Sushi and Shopping and Mugwort, Oh My!

Yesterday was mine and Kyle’s one year anniversary! Hard to believe it’s been a year already! Since it was such a special occasion, we treated ourselves to sushi at my favorite place, Sushi Ya! They seriously have the best sushi I have ever had!

Sushi Ya!

Kyle ordered some chicken yaki soba and an order of unagi nigiri.

Chicken Yaki Soba

Yum!

I ordered the striped bass nigiri, the scallop nigiri, the negi hamachi maki (yellowtail and scallion) and the Rock N Roll (toasted eel and salmon skin with a bunch of veggies)!

Pretty! Pretty... YUMMY!

Yellowtail!

Rock N Roll, Baby!

Yum, yum, YUM! I was so excited!

We also met a girl that is opening her own tapas restaurant in a month! She was so cool and so excited about learning to make sushi the correct way, since she’s going to be having a sushi night at her restaurant! I’m planning to go after it opens, I’ll let you know how amazing it is!

After our delicious meal, we went to my favorite store in the entire world. H Mart!

H Mart!!

Because of how far away H Mart is I never get to go there. We made an exception and I went crazy with joy!

Hooray!

Kyle had never been, so I got to show him the ins and outs of it’s awesomeness! It was mega-crowded in there since it was a Saturday, but that didn’t stop me!

There were some things in there that kinda freaked me out.

Jellyfish Heads

But there were some awesome things, too! We bought some fresh lychees, which I discovered aren’t as difficult to open as I’d have imagined. Yay!

Lychees Whole

Me shelling lychees

Unfortunately my search for my favorite peanut butter and ginger candy failed. I even asked the cashier and she had no idea what I was talking about. Sadness.

Among our other purchases: glutinous rice flour, paad thai noodles, chinese sausage (so. friggin’. good.), tofu, sun dried tomatoes NOT packed in olive oil, spring roll wrappers, black sesame seeds, purple yams, fresh shitake mushrooms, miso paste, quince, a bunch of pitted dates, srirachi and some mugwort powder (green tea powder).

From the awesome powder came an idea for breakfast.

This morning I woke up, padded into the kitchen and threw together some Green Tea Lychee Pancakes! I adapted my recipe a bit from the one over at Kirbie’s Cravings, found here. Kyle isn’t too crazy about green tea, but he still seemed to enjoy them!

I loved them!

I hope you do, too!

Green Tea Lychee Pancakes
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
2 tablespoons brown rice flour
2 teaspoons turbinado sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon mugwort powder
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons skim milk
1/4 teaspoon mango extract
1 egg
~3 lychees, pitted and diced

Whisk together dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just combined, adding more milk if the batter is too thick for your liking. Do not over-mix (I have a bad habit of doing this). Heat a large skillet, melt a teeny pad of butter and ladle 1/4 cup portions of the batter on. Cook until tiny bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake and the bottom turns golden brown. Flip and cook until opposite side is golden brown. This recipe makes about 6 pancakes. Serve with slices of lychee and devour!

Leave a Reply

