Green with Envy

They aren’t in a half shell and they sure aren’t teenage but they’re green! And they’re fighting against their nemesis – BAD FATS!

I’ve got to stop baking so late. It makes me a little goofy. Delirium can be fun, though, when it involves green-ness!

I present to you: Green with Envy muffins!

Mmm.. avocado-ey, green tea-ey, lemon-ey goodness! These muffins are extremely moist and flavorful. I couldn’t stop eating them long enough to let them cool off! I’m always burning my tongue because of my impatience. Oh well. =)

I made these guys into minis only because I didn’t have any large muffin tin liners but had plenty of leftover Halloween mini liners. ┬áIf you decide to make them in the large tin I’d just increase the baking time a bit. Enjoy these unique treats. I sure know I did!

Green with Envy Muffins

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 tablespoon powdered sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon matcha powder

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Zest and juice of half a lemon

~ 3/4 of one avocado (I decided on this amount since it was all I had left over)

1/4 cup skim milk

1 egg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, matcha, powdered sugar and salt in a bowl. Set aside. In a blender or food processor, puree avocado, lemon juice, zest and milk. Mix wet ingredients gently into dry ingredients until just incorporated. Spoon batter into lined mini muffin tins (it makes about 20 minis). Bake ~10 minutes or until the tips just start to turn golden. Remove and allow to cool if you can!

4 thoughts on “Green with Envy

  1. Don’t you just love baking with avocado? It has been one of my favorite baking discoveries this year…and I love to surprise my friends and family with how delicious it is. Your muffins look and sound great! I love how you added the matcha powder too. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe with me. Have a Sunday full of laughter, love and plates of good food!

    • Good luck, Jackie! Check out Monet’s site (Anecdotes and Apple Cores) if you need a few more suggestions for baked goods with avocados – I got the idea from her!

Leave a Reply

