Coconut Banana Macaroons

I got an email for this amazing recipe from my Oh She Glows subscription the other day.

I immediately fell in love with the idea. As I do with most of her recipes..

Unfortunately I knew I didn’t have enough coconut for the recipe. At first I was going to just reduce it by half.. then that changed to a quarter of the recipe. That just got way too complicated so I started tweaking.

From all the crazy tweaking came the following amazing recipe. My only problem was that I could not puree the coconut quite enough to make it into smooth butter. My food processor doesn’t quite get the job done – it’s on the list for an upgrade! Despite that one tiny problem, the dough came together pretty nicely.

I brought these little gems into work today and everyone that tried them LOVED them. There were only a few left and I stashed them in my drawer so I would always have an emergency snack available. Well.. for as long as they hold out.

=)

Coconut Banana Macaroons (adapted from Oh She Glows)
1 cup unsweetened coconut
3 dates
1/2 banana
1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup rolled oats

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Toss the coconut into your food processor and whip that sucker until you get a beautiful creamy coconut butter (or until your food processor can’t take it anymore..). If you would like a tutorial for making coconut butter, check it out here. Add in the dates, banana, vanilla bean paste and salt, pureeing until a smooth batter forms. Pulse in the rolled oats until just fully combined.

Scoop dough out by the 1/2 tablespoon and form into balls. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake 10-15 minutes or until just golden on bottom. Cool completely on the cookie sheet and devour!

15 thoughts on “Coconut Banana Macaroons

  1. These sounds amazing! Love that they use of the banana!!

    Wanted to invite you to share them (and other recipes) at a weekly event I host titled Seasonal Sundays- as they fit the theme PERFECTLY!

    Happy Sunday! :)
    Brittany

  2. How cute and delicious. My mom loves coconut and I’m sure she’ll love these macaroons if I made some for her.

    I’m hosting the Culinary Smackdown Battle for March–the theme is Cookies. Would you like to join in for the fun? It doesn’ have to be a new post on your blog. You can pick your favorite cookie from your previous post too. All you have to do is link up your cookie creation. I have some great prizes waiting. Hope to see your entry soon!

    Amy
    http://utry.it/2011/03/culinary-smackdown-battlecookies.html

  3. Macaroons | Food Doodles

  4. Detox Friendly, Vegan, Gluten-free, and Sugar Free Macaroons | Food Doodles

  5. This looks delish! I’m on a detox diet elimination diet right now but really was missing the treats for the holidays. This is perfect! Love coconut. :) I’m going to look for a recipe for a “chocolate” made from carob powder that will set up. The carob chips I found have stuff in them I can’t have. Any help would be great! If I don’t have access to vanilla bean paste or vanilla beans, how much vanilla extract would I use in these?

    • Thanks, Diane! I have been craving these little gems but keep forgetting to buy coconut! I like extremely dark chocolate, so I usually chop up unsweetened Baker’s chocolate and add a tiny bit of some sweetener or I use cocoa powder (you could use carob powder I’m sure) with some molasses to taste and a tiny bit of coconut oil or non-dairy milk. Keep in mind that with the second option the chocolate/carob probably won’t harden. I’m not sure if those ingredients fall along the lines of your detox diet; I’ve never done one myself. As for how much vanilla extract, I would probably start with a 1/2 teaspoon and then adjust the taste to your liking after the batter comes together. I hope I was able to give you some information that will help! Enjoy and have a happy holiday season! =)

Leave a Reply

