Hot Enough to Melt Cheese

It is mind numbingly hot here. Now I’m not talking about outside; I’m talking about inside this very apartment. I mean, you know its hot when you’re standing there washing dishes with sweat pouring down your face. No more attics converted into apartments for me!

Over the weekend I had a family reunion for my Grandma’s side of the family. Our color was yellow – my favorite! It was a ton of fun to hang out with my family to eat, drink and be merry!

Kyle and I with Grams

Uncle Johnny and I

My 5-year-old cousin recently discovered Kool Aid’s new Fun Fizz drink tablets… he must have had 6 or 7 little bottles of them. He even shared! I have one in my purse right now!

After the reunion, my cousin Steve invited us over to his house to hang with he and his awesome girlfriend, Stephanie!  We drank some UV Blue and Lemonade and made some homemade pizzas!  We chopped up artichoke hearts, scallions, sun-dried tomatoes and added some browned italian sausage along with some garlic powder, pepperoncini and hot giardiniera.

Choppin' up the veggies!

We were really excited to eat it!

Stephanie with the first pizza!

Steve waiting patiently..

Yum, yum!

It was delicious!!  Mmm… pizza. Mmm… cheese. It’s so hot in here I think I could melt cheese on the counter.

Hey speaking of cheese, I threw together this awesome pasta dish tonight on a whim!  It was pretty tasty!

Mmm.. alfredoey!

It’s not going to cure that craving for homemade pizza I know you have now, but it will bring back the delicious taste of fettucini alfredo from your childhood!  And on a more figure friendly scale!  😉  Enjoy!

Asiago Onion Pasta
2 ounces pasta (I used GF corn pasta I bought ages ago)
1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
2 ounces asiago cheese, grated
1/4 vidalia onion, diced
Fresh basil to taste
Salt, garlic powder and pepper to taste

Cook pasta until al dente in salted water. While the pasta is cooking, sautee the onions in a small, dry pan until they just start to brown. In a separate bowl, mix together yogurt, cheese, basil and spices; set aside. Drain noodles but do not rinse. You want the noodles hot so they’ll melt the cheese! Return the noodles to the hot pot. Pour yogurt mixture over the noodles and the onions on top of that. Mix well with a wooden spoon, garnish with crushed red pepper and serve!

Leave a Reply

