Uber ube!

Ube. Purple Yams. The purple-y-ist. Yes, even more purple than purple potatoes. They are delicious.

I discovered the beauty of purple yams at the local Filipino restaurant/grocer. I found purple yam jam. It’s so delicious and filling! I put it in my oatmeal in the morning sometimes. Other times I just eat it out of the jar with a spoon. Mmmm…

When I saw the fresh purple yams at H Mart the other day, I immediately scooped some of those bad boys up! I had no clue what to do with them, really, I just knew I had to have them. I did make some muffins out of them a few days ago…

Ube Lychee Muffins

but while they were kinda tasty, it wasn’t what I was looking for. While browing for ideas, I stumbled across a spectacular recipe over at Burnt Lumpia. I’ve been obsessed with making gnocchi lately and her genius idea of ube gnocchi flashed like a neon sign in front of my eyes. I had to make it.

I followed her recipe, only making very slight changes: adding in 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro and replacing 1/4 cup of the all purpose flour with brown rice flour. Once they were cooked and cooled, I coated them in a mixture I created out of one tablespoon extra virgin olive oil and one tablespoon pomegranate balsalmic vinegar. De-LISH!

Unfortunately I don’t have any yummy photos of my ube gnocchi I so lovingly prepared. The pictures made it look like something of gray chunks of beef… not appetizing to view. =( The pictures on BL’s page are so much prettier! My gnocchi always tends to come out on the “slick” side. Always fairly water coated. I don’t know if this is normal or if I’m doing something wrong. One day I’ll figure it out. Maybe someone has a tip!

But hey, this recipe is seriously awesome. Kyle loved it. He said he was “pleasantly surprised”. I think he was worried that he was eating purple pasta for dinner.

Me? I was drooling in anticipation. Hurry! Go buy some ube, follow this link to the awesome recipe and try it for yourself! And if purple isn’t your thing, I’m sure regular yams will do the trick, too!

Leave a Reply

