Tofu Stir Fry

The best tofu I have ever had I bought at H Mart. I know, I know, all I’ve been able to talk about lately are the awesome finds I picked up when I went there a few weekends ago. I can’t help it, the place is amazing. Though I don’t know what brand this tofu was, but it was extra firm, vacuum sealed and 95% drained of its water. It had a great flavor all its own and I even caught myself munching slices of it right off the cutting board!

Well I’d made some miso soup on Sunday for dinner, but still had 3/5 of a package of tofu left to use up. Being a meat eater, I’ve never had much experience cooking or eating tofu. My experience comes from miso soup and the time I tried making the tofu gnocchi from Peas and Thank You. This time I wanted to try stir fry.

I’m so glad I did! This came out just crispy enough with tons of flavor from the garlic and sun dried tomatoes! It’s so filling I wasn’t able to even finish my portion! Woot for lunch!

Tofu in my TUMMY!

Tofu Stir Fry
3/5 package extra firm tofu, chopped into large chunks
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon oyster sauce
Salt and pepper to taste
3 sun dried tomatoes, sliced
1 broccoli stem, sliced and diced
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

Combine tofu, garlic, soy sauce, oyster sauce with the salt and pepper and allow to sit for at least 5 minutes while you prepare the rest of the ingredients. In a large skillet, heat the oil on medium high and saute the broccoli stem using salt and pepper to season. Once the stem starts to brown, add in tomatoes and tofu mixture and continue cooking on medium high until the tofu starts to crisp up; stirring every few minutes to prevent burning. Serve over rice and enjoy! I used a mixture of brown rice and white rice… mmm, mmm, mmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

