Pitas, Weddings and Birthday Treats!

Nutella Brownies!

I’m going to tease you with these deliciously moist and dense, hazelnut-y, Nutella-y brownies while I ramble on about some other stuff!  Some other stuff I’ve taken a while to post about this awesome new place we discovered last week.  But hey, better late than never when it comes to awesomeness like the following!  Ladies and Gents, I give you:

Extreme Pita!

We stopped in to keep me from passing out from hunger on a whim while out shopping last week.  It was between the pitas and Noodles and Company.  I chose pitas all because they had delicious smoothies too!

Mmm de-LISH!

I was SO excited – I got a souvlaki chicken pita with banana peppers added and a root smoothie (it’s not listed on the page yet but it was a delicious combo of carrot, ginger, passion-mango-fruitiness!)

I'm ready for my close-up!

It was so good I ate the WHOLE thing!

Kyle got himself a Classic Italian pita.  He seemed to love his, too!

Eetsa Classeec!

We’ll definitely be visiting Extreme Pita again!  Nice people, great food – its totally a keeper!

I haven’t had too much baking time lately – things have been crazy busy.  I whipped up a rosemary blue cheese bread a few days ago but the bread didn’t turn out quite as I’d planned.  I think I retarded the yeast.  Oops.  Bound to happen sometime!

One of our crazy busy things was my cousin’s wedding this past weekend.  Congrats to Joe and Dawnn!  =)

The happy couple!

We had a fantastic time!  The reception was held outside in their gorgeous backyard.

Cheesin'!

I want to live here!

We laughed, we danced, we stuffed ourselves full of the most delicious catered Italian food I’ve ever had!  I was way too excited to take a picture, though I did think about it briefly while stuffing my face full of eggplant parm, chicken picatta and portabella mushroom pasta (amongst other double helpings).  I also had my first taste of the infamous Rainbow Cone (which I’d never even heard about before the wedding).  The shame!

Rainbow Cone cake and.. hey how did that doughnut get there??

It sure was pretty and what I was told was the butter pecan layer (but I actually think was the Palmer House layer) was delicious.   I don’t see myself sprinting back anytime soon since I like to choose my own oddball creations, thankyouverymuch!  I’m also more attached to froyo than ice cream anymore.  But hey, if you like sherbert, this is your place!  =)

You want to lick the screen don't you?

It’s Kindra’s birthday!  So I whipped up a batch of Nutella Brownies I found over at Nook & Pantry (browse about a bit – there’s some awesome stuff on there!).  Since I never have stick butter in the house anymore, I pondered what would happen if I used olive oil in place of the stuff.  Well let me tell you: these were freaking INSANELY good, the perfect richness.  I cannot wait to take them into work to present them to the gals there!  Too bad I don’t have a silver platter.

Nutella Brownies
4 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1/4 cup Nutella
6 tablespoons turbinado sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon hazelnut extract
1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup hazelnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 (325 if using a glass dish) and line a baking pan with aluminum foil. Roughly chop chocolate, place in a bowl along with olive oil and melt in the microwave until all incorporated. In a separate bowl, whisk together Nutella, eggs, sugar, salt and extracts. Add chocolate mixture and beat until well combined. Next comes the flour and hazelnuts, but only mix until just combined. Pour into prepared dish and bake 20-25 minutes or until the brownies aren’t shiny on top anymore. I know, real scientific of me, but the toothpick test didn’t work! =) ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

