Taste of Peru (and Awesomeality)

Kyle got a job!  Pharmacy tech at Walgreens!  Woo hoo!  On a whim, we decided to haul our butts an hour and a half to the north side of Chicago after I got off work to celebrate “in style” at a place that’s been on my radar for a looooong time.  I don’t know if you’ve ever had Peruvian food before, but let me tell you:  Guy Fieri wasn’t kidding when he said “I don’t care if you live within 200 miles of this place, you should walk here.”

The food was phenomenal.  Right off the bat, they serve delicious fresh bread with an insanely flavorful, spicy avocado sauce.  Mmm mmm mmmmmm.  See, Kyle and I were celebrating (both job and foodstuffs) so we split the peruvian tamales and an empanadas de pollo as well.

Nom!

Empanadas and tamales

The tamale was out of this world good.  It was by far the best I’ve ever had.  I will be craving another one of those bad boys soon, I tell ya!  Hell, I would go here every week if I didn’t have to drive so far to get my dinner!  For the main event, I ordered the arroz con mariscos and Kyle went with the lomo saltado, which was featured on the show (as well as the tamale).  I was so excited that I couldn’t even wait long enough to take a picture of Kyle’s food.  Hehe!

Paella to the extreme! Lookit all that seafood!

Cesar, the owner, was incredibly friendly, offering me some of his extra spicy sauce he was about to eat with his own meal (I forgot the name of the peppers he said he used, but he grows his own !!), assisting me in opening the crab legs in my paella (I’m REALLY horrible at it haha) and chatting it up with us while we dined.  Cesar sent out a little Peruvian chocolate filled with caramel (chocotejas) for us to try, too.

Chocotejas

He even agreed to take a photo with me after he and the waitress ran out to give me my hoodie I left sitting at the table.  Oops!  Leave it to me to forget that but remember my leftovers!

Me with Cesar!

After bidding us a safe drive home and making sure we got out of the parking lot alright (how many restaurants in Chicago will do THAT for you??) we were on our way!  It poured rain all the way home and took us about 2 hours to get back but it was totally worth it!  We will definitely be going back.  And soon!  I can taste that tamale now…

Leave a Reply

