Beetsa Pie

Crab Pizza

I haven’t made many pizza doughs from scratch.  I’m usually in too much of a hurry and just end up buying the pre-made stuff.  Well today, in honor of Kyle’s fantasy football draft, I decided to make homemade pizza with homemade dough!  I was planning on making a plain old whole wheat type dough until I got an email from one of my many food blog subscriptions; the awesome people of (never home)maker.  Now this wasn’t the first time I’d seen a recipe for beet pizza dough. I’d seen it before over at The Cooking Photographer but I’d forgotten about it!  I got so excited I could hardly stand to wait until today to make it!

Roast Beef Pizza

I ended up following the general recipe from (never home)maker but changing a few ingredients.  It was so incredibly easy and SO tasty!  I know most people would be put off by pink pizza crust, but Kyle and I were all for it!  The recipe makes enough for 3 smallish pizzas.  I chose to make two and stick one in the freezer for the next time we want to make pizza.  Hey all I’ve gotta do is remember to take it out of the freezer right?  Sounds.. simple enough.. we’ll see I guess!  Anyway, after a coating of garlic spiked olive oil for each pizza and a quick 5 minute tour of the oven, they were topped with yumminess.  Onto one went some roast beef, sweated Vidalia onion, sweet red peppers, hot giardiniera and low-fat mozzarella.  Onto another went a beet puree with chopped sun-dried tomato and garlic, sweated Vidalia onion, sweet red peppers, imitation crab meat, danish blue cheese and a bit of low-fat mozzarella.  Both very different but both deliciously devoured!

Hey, don’t just take my word for it, whip up a batch of dough and try it for yourself.  Maybe make some garlic knots out of the leftover dough while you’re at it.  It’s a yummy warm snack for a cool evening.  Welcome fall!

Beet Pizza Dough
1 packet active dry yeast
1 cup warm water
1/2 cup beet puree (unsalted canned beets pureed with enough liquid to make an applesauce consistency)
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon honey
3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

In a medium bowl, sprinkle yeast over water, mix with fingers and allow to sit for 5 minutes to bubble up. After the 5 minutes are up, add in the beet puree, olive oil and honey, stirring with a wooden spoon until well combined. In a large bowl combine flours and salt, making an indentation large enough to pour the beet mixture inside. After the beet mixture is poured in, mix it all up!

Mix me, mix me!!

Now its time to get your hands dirty! (I hate that part – dough sticking to my fingers is so nasty! But so rewarding…) Knead that dough until its nice and elastic, then coat it with a bit of olive oil and cover it with a wet towel. Now you have to let it sit for 2 hours. But hey, after that you get to roll it out, bake it quick-like at 425 degrees for 5 minutes, top it and finish it off! Then try not to eat it all in one sitting!

5 thoughts on “Beetsa Pie

  1. That s so cool! I love beets because they taste sooo good! But I like how the give the pizza crust a nice pink tint. Great idea!

  2. A pizza of a different color.. « Peanut Butter and Ginger

  3. hi Lauren, I haven’t had a beet since I was a kid, and I’m pushin’ 50 years old. I’ve decided I’m going to try beets again because my taste buds may have changed and it’s quite possible I might not hate beets like I used to.

    I love pizza so I might just try adding beets to my dough the way you did. Now let’s see if I can convince my honey to try it! 🙂 Wish me luck! 🙂

    • Good luck! Here’s hoping you both enjoy the dough! Kyle is pretty good about trying all the strange stuff I make – he doesn’t even get weirded out by the pink dough!

      I always buy the unsalted sliced canned beets and find them to be subtly sweet. If you’re looking for other ways to try them out, I would suggest on top of a salad or with some cottage cheese. =)

Leave a Reply

