Ramblings of a pumpkin deprived mind…

Tastes like fall!

Tuesday: the craving hits. (Well actually it hit about 2 weeks ago and just got out of control Tuesday)

The weather is cool and fall is here fast approaching. I want what every hot blooded woman wants at this time of year. That luciously versatile and full bodied fall treat. Pumpkin.

More specifically, I thought my favorite banana bread recipe would be the perfect experimental jumping point. My craving led me to scour six (yes SIX) stores for any sign of pumpkin. Of these six, I found only one that had the goods. My fantabulous little Kankakee Natural Foods! They always seem to come through for me.

Go K3NF!

I hurried home with my purchase and promptly threw together a batch of banana bread! Aside from being a little dry (next time I think I’ll add in some milk or some extra pumpkin), it tasted just like pumpkin pie. Now I’ve got enough for the week and hopefully this will cure some of my pumpkin crazies.

Of course, if that doesn’t cure it, there’s always this nifty little surprise Kyle picked up for me the other night…

I cut it up and I now have a metric butt-ton of pumpkin to nosh on!

Choppy, choppy!

SCORE!

Pumpkin Banana Bread
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup wheat bran
1/4 cup all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3 mashed bananas
1/2 cup liquid egg whites
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl, set aside. Combine pumkin, banana, extract and egg whites and add mixture to dry. Stir until just combined, then pour into a lightly oiled loaf pan. Bake 45-50 minutes and allow to cool completely before attempting to remove from the pan. I know its hard, but we don’t want it to crumble into a million pieces do we??

Enjoy!

One thought on “Ramblings of a pumpkin deprived mind…

Leave a Reply

