I be jammin’


Oh yeah, I went there.

Corny, I know, but its SO true! I’ve been wanting to make jam forever but I’ve been afraid! I don’t know how to can and don’t have the materials to attempt a true canning experience (which is why I also haven’t made sauerkraut yet). But the other day I decided to throw caution to the wind and make a “practice” batch of jam!

It was the perfect timing. Annie had just given me some fresh jalapenos from her dad’s garden and I had some blueberries in the freezer! SCORE! I got to work loosely following a recipe I found here. Man o man o man it was DELICIOUS!

Especially smeared on some toast with some peanut butter to munch along with my overnight steel cut oats.


Luscious!

Give it a shot – you won’t be disappointed!

Blueberry Jalapeno Jam
1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen and thawed
1/2 cup chopped pumpkin
1/4 cup jalapeno, seeded and diced
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon unflavored gelatin
2 teaspoons water

In a small bowl, mash berries and add lime juice followed by the water; set aside. In a food processor, whirl around the peppers, vinegar and pumpkin until its as processed as you like. I like mine pretty smooth. In yet another bowl, mix together sugar and gelatin. In a small pot on the stove, combine berry mixture and pepper mixture, bringing to a boil and cooking 5-7 minutes. Add sugar mixture to the pot and whisk vigorously to make sure it dissolves and there are no clumps! Bring this to a boil again and cook about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool a bit before transferring to a 16 ounce jar. It thickens as it cools, I promise! Cool completely before throwing a lid on and storing in the fridge.

2 thoughts on “I be jammin’

  1. I love your blog!
    And I love the caption under your photo 🙂 That happens to be my favorite episode of Friends of all time!
    “You know, if we make reservations we could have some Unagi in like, 30 minutes!”

Leave a Reply

