Too-chocolatey-for-words sorbet

Speechless?

I tried.  I couldn’t think of the right way to describe this decadent chocolate sorbet I made with my brand new ice cream maker!

I picked this bad boy up at Sears for $40! I was so happy! I’ve been waiting to have an ice cream maker since the beginning of this year and I finally took the plunge! Now I can finally get all these crazy ice cream/frozen yogurt ideas out of my head!

My first thought was to do a watermelon basil sorbet. Of course, after a long morning of internet searches, I settled on a recipe from Smitten Kitchen for chocolate sorbet. Yeah, just looking at that title just changed my mind like that!

Well I decided to change it up just a bit since I like my chocolate darker and more bitter than most. This was still plenty sweet and oh-so-rich. Chocolatey heaven in a bowl. I could have let the ice cream maker run a bit longer but I was too impatient to wait!

A weakness. Oh well!

Chocolate Basil Sorbet
1 cup skim milk
1 cup water
3/4 cup special dark cocoa powder
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon fresh basil, finely chopped
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon almond flour
1 cup broken graham crackers, optional (I used my homemade graham crackers)

In a large saucepan, whisk together milk and half the water, sugar, salt, cocoa powder and basil. Bring to a low boil, whisking constantly. Remove from heat and whisk in chopped chocolate, extract, honey, flour and remaining water until smooth. Pour mixture into another container and chill until thoroughly cooled. Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. A few minutes before the sorbet is finished, add graham crackers. Then try not to devour the whole recipe. 😉

Update:  The leftover sorbet firms up pretty nice in the freezer!  At least I can’t dig into it so easily now that its more solid!

Leave a Reply

