A new favorite!


Oh my.  I’ve found a new favorite.  I daresay its even better than chocolate (though I DID eat my cookie topped with some chocolate sorbet…).

Yeah, you read that correctly.

Better.  Than.  Chocolate.

In fact, Kyle just went back for his third fourth cookie. And he’s only been home for 20 minutes.

That’s what I’m talking about.

Date-y!

See, I love dates (the fruit, of course.  Though the other kind is nice when certain people plan them out… nudge nudge).  This is a fairly recent development.  I’ve had some of these gems sitting in my fridge for about a month, hidden so I wouldn’t scarf them all in one sitting.

Then today, by sheer luck, I stumbled across a recipe for date cookies over at Eating Out Loud. I used the recipe as a base and ended up spinning it into my own. And what do you know, they’re even vegan!

Date Oatmeal Cookies
3 tablespoons canola oil
1/4 cup sugar (next time I might cut this down to 3 tablespoons)
1 teaspoon molasses
1/2 tablespoon flax meal (mixed with 1 1/2 tablespoons cranberry juice concentrate)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup dark rye flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup chopped dates

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In your stand mixer, whisk oil, sugar and molasses until well combined. Add in flax mixture and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, combine flour, soda, salt and oats. Add slowly to sugar mixture and allow to mix well before adding dates. Drop dough onto cookie sheet with a cookie dough dropper (yep, that’s a technical name) and flatten a tiny bit with the back of a spoon. If desired, sprinkle with extra kosher salt. Bake about 10-14 minutes or until they start to get crispy brown looking around the bottom edges. Be sure to share. 😉

4 thoughts on “A new favorite!

  1. Thank you for participating the Smackdown Battle. Best of luck to you. Wonderful choice to submit these cookies for the contest.

    If you haven’t done so, please sign up as a follower on my blog so you won’t miss out on the winner announcement and new posts. Have a wonderful day!

    Amy
    http://utry.it

    • Thanks for catching my typo, it’s all fixed now! I’m not sure why I typed that they were “almost”. Oops! I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Leave a Reply

