I’m in love…

.. with my ice cream maker.

I think he needs a name. He’s been such a good little guy this week! And you know what? Tonight he’s outdone himself.

Ooooooooh!

You see, I had this butternut squash sitting on the counter from the farmer’s market. Oh how I love the farmer’s market. A plethora of delicious veggies and such for super cheap. Ahhhh it’s heaven to me. Well the squash was roasted up last night in preparation of.. well.. eating! But I wanted to be sure to save enough to make some ice cream.

Yes, butternut squash ice cream. Oh my you have never tasted such ice cream.  Just look at that beautiful color and those teeny spice specks!

I decided to spin up my own little recipe instead of following one. I bought half and half JUST for this reason. I also bought canned peaches JUST for this reason. Oooooh you just have to taste it for yourself. Mmm.. mmm.. mmm…

Maybe serve it over some frozen blueberries?  Or sprinkled with chocolate shavings..

Now I have to go deal with Ralph. He keeps trying to come in here. What the hell do you do with a ballsy Ralph??

(photo courtesy of Google and is NOT actually Ralph)

He simply canNOT live in my house. No way, Mister.

Appetizing, no?

Butternut-Peach Ice Cream
1 cup pureed butternut squash (pumpkin would work wonderfully here, too)
1 14 1/2 ounce can peaches, drained, rinsed and pureed in a food processor
1 cup half and half
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon garam masala (you could use plain cinnamon here, too)
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Combine all ingredients and whisk together until smooth. If needed, refrigerate until chilled (everything I’d used had been in the fridge except the peaches and the honey so I didn’t need to stick it in the fridge) and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions. My ice cream maker took about 30-40 minutes to get a nice, thick consistency.

Leave a Reply

