Pizza and (root)beer!

Kyle’s birthday was Tuesday!

Happy Birthday!!

It’s why I’ve been so absent! We’ve been busy beavers! Sunday I took him out to dinner to celebrate a bit early. Destination: Sanfratello’s. Pizza choice: Pan pizza with italian sausage, spinach, fresh garlic and black olives.

I like pizza... I... LIKE IT!

Everybody “mmmmmmmmmm…” with me!

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…

It was Kyle’s first taste of traditional Chicago style deep dish pizza.

Can I eat it now??

What did he think?

Clean Plate Club member

Since he had to work on his actual birthday until 10 PM, I used the few hours I had after work to bake him a birthday cake! I had planned on making a Dr Pepper cake but, after some research, decided it was going to be tooooooo sweet! I opted to whip up a Root Beer Float Cake I found over at Joy the Baker. And I got to use my castle bundt pan!


Oh man. Oh man oh man oh man. This cake is phenomenal. So rich and chocolatey (I mean, one CUP of dark cocoa powder, that’s right up my alley. And Kyle’s!) The only changes I made were to cut the granulated sugar by 1/4 cup and use 1/4 cup granulated sugar plus one teaspoon of molasses in place of the brown sugar. I also added 2 tablespoons of brown rice flour and one tablespoon of dark rye flour to make up for the lack of sugar mass. Oh yeah, and I could only get my hands on salted butter, so I emitted the salt from the recipe.

If you’ve never been to Joy’s site, I suggest you scoot on over and check it out. She’s got some amazing recipes and she’s a hoot to read. One of my favorite blogs!

Oh. And please do yourself a favor. Make this cake. You will NOT regret it.


*CHOMP*

One thought on “Pizza and (root)beer!

  1. Can you please plan my next birthday? What a delicious sampling of food. My husband and I are going to get pizza tomorrow night, and now I’m wishing we were in Chicago so we could eat some deep-dish. And yes, your cake looks so moist and rich and all-around delicious. Your blog is adorable, and I’m so glad that I found it!

Leave a Reply

