Ole!

A quick morning dose of chocolate to start off your hump day!

I made up this dough last night because I just needed to make dough.  Do you ever have that problem?  You don’t want to actually bake, you just want to whip up the ingredients leading up to it?  Maybe I’m just odd.  That’s a possibility..  My other reasoning for making the dough last night – my last experiment with dough refrigerated overnight was a raging success.  I wanted to try again with oatmeal cookies!

This recipe was inspired by two separate recipes:  a basic oatmeal chocolate chip cookie one and a mexican chocolate cookie one.  A few weeks ago Amanda and I whipped up and scarfed a recipe for mexican chocolate cookies with a big ol’ bottle of red wine.  Mmm, mmm, mmm… I’ve been craving them ever since!  Why the oatmeal?  Well who doesn’t love oatmeal?  Besides, since the cookies have oatmeal in them you could eat them for breakfast right?

Happy Hump Day everyone!

Mexican Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons canola oil
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon half and half (or milk)
1/2 cup dark rye flour
1/2 cup bread flour
2 tablespoons dark cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (heaping)
cayenne pepper, to taste
black pepper, to taste
1 cup oats
1/3 cup chocolate chunks

Using a stand mixer, cream together sugar and oil; add egg, vanilla and milk and cream until smooth. In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and peppers. Slowly add dry mixture into wet, mixing well after each addition until smooth. After the flour mixture is completely combined, add in oats and chocolate chunks.

Refrigerate overnight.

The next day preheat your oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and drop dough by the tablespoon (using your nifty little cookie dough scoop if you’ve got one) about an inch apart and lightly press down on dough. Bake about 15 minutes, remove from the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack.

6 thoughts on “Ole!

  1. Mexican chocolate and oatmeal…wow, I’m drooling! Thanks for combining two good cookies into one excellent concoction. I hope you have a great Thursday…I’m just so happy that I found your blog. Your my new favorite!

  2. Yummm. I love combining decadent chocolate with zippy peppers. Adding this to my must-make list! I’m very new to the blog world (I just started on Friday) and I’m having so much fun finding new blogs and new delish recipes.

  3. Pepper…in cookies? Hmmmm…sounds interesting! About how much did you use? I know you said “to taste” but I’m not sure how much I need to get the pepper flavor to come through. Would you recommend I start with 1/8 tsp. of both black pepper and cayenne? You think that would be enough?

    I’m curious how they taste with the pepper in it. I like those chili chocolate bars so I’ll bet I’d like these cookies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

