Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

My friend Kindra has been going through some stressful times. Its not anything I can help with, so I decided to bake her something yummy. She always loved when I brought in anything I baked because it was something new to try! Now I work at a different branch than she does so we don’t get to see each other often.

I didn’t know what to make her at first. Brownies were too normal and I needed something that would be warm and comforting.

Cinnamon rolls. Perfect!

I remembered a recipe I found over at Love and Olive Oil for pumpkin cinnamon rolls I’ve been meaning to make FOREVER.  I’ve been a bit scared to make cinnamon rolls since the last time I made them was in high school.  At a lock-in.  Like I was paying attention to how to make them..  But it seemed like the perfect recipe to whip up and I’ve been hoarding cans of pumpkin (I’ve got about 7 15-ounce cans and 2 32-ounce cans in the cabinet.. >_>) I had no choice!

I didn’t do much to the recipe except swap out some flours and reduce the sugar and butter in the filling. I also left off the icing. I’m not much for icing on my cinnamon rolls. I’m a bit of a weirdo in that regard.

These are totally my new favorite cinnamon roll. They were just sweet enough and all about the dough and the cinnamon. I gave half away to Kindra and stuck the ones I didn’t eat in the freezer to keep myself from continuing to eat them like candy. Make them. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

Nomnomnom

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls from Love and Olive Oil
For the dough:
1/3 cup skim milk
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg, beaten
1 package active dry yeast
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1/2 cup rye flour

For the filling:
1/3 cup sugar, scant
1 teaspoon molasses
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon melted butter

In a small saucepan, heat milk and 2 tablespoons butter until warm and butter is almost melted. Remove from heat.

In a large mixer bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar and salt. Add milk mixture and beat with a mixer (a stand mixer if you’ve got it) until well combined. Beat in egg and yeast. In a separate bowl, combine flours. Add half the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture, beating on low speed for about 5 minutes. Add remaining flour and mix thoroughly. The dough will be very soft. Don’t worry. Turn the dough into a lightly greased bowl, turning the dough a bit to grease all sides. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a warm place until its doubled, about an hour.

Punch the dough down, turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead until the dough is nice and pliable. Use enough flour to make it easy to work with. Roll the dough into a 12×10 inch rectangle. I’m always horrible at this part. I don’t measure when I roll out, so I ended up with 16 mini cinnamon rolls rather than 12 average sized guys. That’s ok with me, though. =)

In a small bowl, combine the sugar, molasses and cinnamon. Brush the surface of the rolled out dough with melted butter and sprinkle the sugar mixture over the top. Beginning with the long side of the dough (it’ll seem backwards if you’re like me), roll up jelly-roll style. Pinch the seam to seal, then with a sharp knife gently slice the dough into roughly 1 inch slices. Place the rolls into a greased 9 inch square baking pan. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise 30-45 more minutes, or until the dough is doubled again.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake the rolls about 15-20 minutes or until they’re golden on top. Here she says to remove them from the pan and to wax paper, but I didn’t do that. I actually let them cool in the pan. But I’m lazy. You could remove them from the pan and let them cool on some wax paper on a cooling rack. Or you could just devour them hot like I did. Mmmmm… hot cinnamon rolls…

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

  1. I’m sure your sweet friend appreciated these delicious rolls…and your kind spirit. They look amazing, and I love how healthy they are (for being a cinnamon roll, that is!) Thank you for sharing. I’m hoping that your week is full of joy.

    • Thanks Monet! I loved how “healthy” they were for cinnamon rolls, too! Of course that goes out the window when you can’t stop eating them. =) I hope your weekend goes great, too.

Leave a Reply

