Vanillumpkin Bean Ice Cream

Pumpkin-y Goodness to the EXTREME!

Yeah.  I’m crazy like that.  See, I’ve been making a few batches of ice cream a week, trying to find the perfect combination that is light in calories, tastes great and doesn’t turn rock hard in the freezer.  I’ve done it.

I was asked to bring dessert to my Aunt’s Thanksgiving feast this year (and also told I was in charge of cleaning and stuffing the turkey.  For her whole family.  Nerves will get the best of me yet)

She’s making upside-down apple pie.  Mmm.. apple pie.  Love it.  I couldn’t think of something I really wanted to go with the apple pie.  I didn’t want to compete with it by making another huge dessert and no one really eats the pumpkin pie.  I’m just not fond of the flavor combos myself.  But I wanted pumpkin something.  I had some shiny new vanilla bean paste my mom’s friend grabbed for me from a spice store in Chicago and decided to create a hybrid of my favorite flavor, vanilla bean, with a spectacular fall flavor, pumpkin – thus creating the vanillumpkin bean masterpiece!

I was SO incredibly proud of myself for this recipe.  I created it myself.  And it worked.  So proud.

The taste?  Unbelievable.  Its really hard to restrain myself knowing that little batch is sitting in there.  Its one of those ice creams that you HAVE to take a spoonful every time you walk by the freezer.

Kyle loves it, too.  Man, I can’t wait until Thanksgiving (I’ll have to double or even triple the batch) to see how its received.  Yum, yum, YUM!

Enjoy =)

Vanillumpkin Bean Ice Cream
1 cup skim milk
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup sugar (I used white but I don’t see why brown wouldn’t be just as delicious here)
1 egg, beaten
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1/8 teaspoon sea salt (I forgot this in this recipe and it still tasted great)
1 1/2 teaspoons liquor (I used whiskey, its really just to keep it from getting rock solid)

In a pot, scald the milk and cream, being sure not to let it boil. You don’t want that skin on there. Yuck! Once the milk is scalded, remove the pan from the heat and stir in the sugar until its well dissolved. Cool slightly, until you can leave your finger in there without burning it. Slowly pour the milk mixture over the beaten egg, whisking constantly. Cook the custard in a double boiler over medium heat (or a wok set on top of your largest pan in my case), still whisking constantly, until its thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Remove the custard from the heat and beat in the pumpkin and vanilla bean paste.

Chill overnight to combine all the lovely flavors.

You’d add the salt here if you didn’t forget about it. Churn the custard according to the manufacturer’s instructions (mine only took about 15 minutes), adding the liquor just before the ice cream is finished churning. Store in an airtight container in the freezer. I need to look into getting those little ice cream cartons if I’m gonna keep making ice cream..

Leave a Reply

