Truffles!?

Oh yeah, I made truffles tonight. You know what? They were easy. Totally easy. I have never considered attempting them because I’ve been afraid to make an ooey, gooey mess in the kitchen. (I don’t like getting my hands dirty while I’m cooking..)

I found a recipe on The Food Channel’s website for Matcha Green Tea Truffles.. pure genius! I halved the recipe followed the directions until I got to the last few steps. I didn’t coat the frozen truffles in another layer of chocolate; mainly because I ran out of semi-sweet chocolate and didn’t want to bust into my chocolate chips.

Once the chocolate chip bag is open, it will be gone within days.

Give these truffles a shot. Impress your family and friends!

Matcha Truffles

2 1/2 ounces chocolate (I like really dark chocolate, so I used 2 ounces unsweetened and 1/2 an ounce semisweet)

2 1/2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon cream

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon matcha powder, plus extra for rolling

Chop chocolate with a serrated knife and set aside. In a small saucepan, heat cream over medium heat. Whisk in sugar and matcha powder until well dissolved, bringing the mixture up to a boil – stirring constantly. Remove the pot from heat and whisk in chopped chocolate until smooth. Spread chocolate mixture in a shallow dish and refrigerate until firm to the touch.

Using a spoon, scoop up about a half tablespoon worth of chocolate and lightly roll into a ball using your hands. You have to work quickly so the heat from your hands doesn’t melt the chocolate too much. Place on wax paper lined plate. Once you’ve got all your chocolate rolled into balls, stick the plate in the freezer until the truffles are, well, frozen.

Remove the truffles from the freezer and toss in loose matcha powder. Refrigerate in an airtight container!

Mmmmmmmmmmm…

 

Truffle-y!

8 thoughts on “Truffles!?

  1. I have also been too intimidated to try making my own truffles. I was wrong not to try! Thank you for sharing your experience, recipe and pictures. I hope you have a great holiday weekend!

    • Definitely give it a go! It’s so great to know that its possible to make those delicious chocolatey treats at home and play around with different flavor combinations!

      My holiday weekend has been great so far, I hope yours has been as well!

    • Thanks Beth! I know I’ll be whipping up some more of these in some holiday flavors – perhaps to go on the cookie trays I’ll be handing out. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Hi Lauren, thanks for dropping by my little space. Great to meet you. Very truffle-y treat indeed. Need to go bust out the matcha stash now 🙂

Leave a Reply

