One of my all time favorites!

Another treat added to my friend’s goodie box!

I can’t believe I’ve gone almost a year without making these cookies! Well, actually, I can believe it. I’m not allowed to make peanut butter cookies. Especially not peanut butter ginger cookies. Why? Well.. because all that’s usually left are crumbs on the plate. I mean it uses my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe from Simply Recipes and it is my favorite exotic flavor combo.

These bad boys are pretty safe, though. They are for Amy. She won’t miss the two I ate to make sure they weren’t poisoned, right?

If you’re looking for something to liven up your peanut butter cookies, give ginger a shot! You won’t be let down!

Peanut Butter Ginger Cookies
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon molasses
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup peanut butter (I used natural chunky)
1 egg
~1 tablespoon ginger root juice (I squeezed my fresh ginger with a garlic press to get the juice)
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda, heaping
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Cream butter until it starts to fluff up. Add in sugar and molasses, whipping until well combined. Add in egg, peanut butter and ginger juice, mixing well. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Slowly add dry mixture into wet mixture, making sure the dough is well combined. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

On baking day, preheat oven to 300 (375 for crisp cookies). Shape dough into 1/2 inch balls (roughly, just make sure they’re all the same size), place on an ungreased cookie sheet and flatten gently with a fork. Bake 15 minutes (9-10 if you’re baking crispy cookies at 375) or until the cookies just start to turn brown on the bottoms.

4 thoughts on “One of my all time favorites!

  1. I love adding ginger to most things…but I’ve never thought to add that wondrous flavor to my peanut butter cookies. What an inspired idea! Thank you for sharing this with me. I hope you have a joyful week, my friend!

Leave a Reply

