A pizza of a different color..

I know I’ve said it before, but this whole idea of putting beets in pizza dough is genius! Its so delcious, so different, so shockingly colorful – how can you go wrong?!

For New Year’s Eve Kyle and I decided to stay at home in our pjs and watch movies. I decided earlier in the day that I was going to create some sort of pizza I’d never had before.

A few weeks back while shopping at K3 Natural Foods, I picked up a bottle of marinade that was on clearance. Roasted blueberry and chipotle marinade to be exact. I covered a chicken breast in the marinade and baked it in the oven until it was firm to the touch. I let it rest while I made the dough and let that rise. I then prebaked the dough, let it cool and assembled my toppings.

This unique pizza was topped with the sliced baked chicken, some extra blueberry sauce, thinly sliced red onions, about 2 1/2 ounces cranberry cinnamon goat cheese, smoked salt and freshly cracked pepper. It baked in the oven for 20-30 minutes and was topped with fresh cilantro.

We devoured an entire pizza between the two of us.

How could we resist when it looked like this?

4 thoughts on “A pizza of a different color..

  1. You are so creative. All of the ingredients sound so interesting (especially that cinnamon goat cheese!) And in my mind, there is nothing better than making a pizza and watching a movie at home. I want to do this tomorrow night. Thank you for sharing, my dear. I hope you have a good Monday. Let the week begin!

    • Thanks Sara, Monet and Emily! I’m so glad you enjoyed the unique pizza idea! =) I’ll have to think of some more really different combinations to share.. I’m such a pizza lover!

Leave a Reply

