Flirting with Veganism

After much consideration, much drooling over the delectable recipes on the vegan blogs I follow and much research, I’ve decided to try flirting with going vegan. Both health and environmental concerns have entered my brain, especially after watching Food Inc and reading The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone (something I’ve been wanting to do for almost a year). For one month I’m going to eat no meat and no dairy, save for the possible fish filet if I really feel I need to have some meat (and this is only because my parents go fishing a few times a year and I know exactly where that fish has been and what it has been through). After that month is up I can decide whether or not I’m going to reintroduce any of the meat or dairy back into my diet.

Since last Monday things have been going great with this plan. I’ve even baked with dairy and eggs, not tasting as I’ve gone (I’ve gotta get it out of my house somehow! So to work these baked goods go!) and this afternoon I made Kyle some chicken soup and didn’t taste that either. I’ve resisted sour cream, chocolate chips, everything. I haven’t even had cravings for them. Though I will allow myself to eat chocolate if I start to crave it. One cannot live without the chocolate in my freezer for too long. That is certain. =)

So this afternoon, I made a delicious roasted veggie mix. It wasn’t too much of a recipe, just something I threw together in my head while showering. I chopped up some fresh fennel and butternut squash I had leftover from the farmer’s market way back when, then tossed that with olive oil, pomegranate balsalmic vinegar, fresh garlic, chopped lemon and salt. I roasted that mixture and tossed in some roasted walnuts when it came out of the oven. Wow it was SO delicious. I had to stop myself from eating the whole pan in one sitting! I will have THE best lunch tomorrow.. especially when I pull out that red lettuce to wrap the leftovers in!

Sorry for the poor photo quality - it was a quick snap with the phone!


A rough estimate of measurements:
1/2 fresh fennel bulb, chopped
1/3 butternut squash, peeled and chopped
1/2 lemon, seeded and sliced
1 large clove garlic, crushed and diced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon balsalmic vinegar
~ 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup roasted walnuts

Toss all ingredients together except for the walnuts (save those for after roasting), bake in a 400 degree oven for 35-40 minutes. Toss those walnuts in after you pull the deliciousness out and go to town! If fennel isn’t your thing you could leave it out or substitute some other yummy veggie! By the way, that’s my newest bread flavor, buckwheat, mint and anise, sitting in back topped with some earth balance. Mmmmmm!

I’ve got another surprise for you tomorrow. Here’s a hint.

PUMPKIN!! WOO HOO!

2 thoughts on “Flirting with Veganism

  1. Chocolate is vegan. It’s the milk they add that’s not. Many kinds of dark chocolate bars are vegan, for instance Ghirardelli 70% and I think Lindt 72%. Hersheys Dark is not. Cocoa butter is a vegan ingredient, and so is soy lecithin. Cheaper chocolate chips, such as store brands or bulk, are often vegan.

    I’ve grown to love the intensity of dark chocolate, and when I had a vegan milk chocolate bar after a while, it was too sweet and diluted, kind of like fake peanut butter tastes after you’ve been eating the natural kind.

    I think you’ll find your tastes change over the course of the month. Maybe less creamy and sweet, more intense and fresh. Good luck.

    • Thanks, Tinako! Next time I need to buy chocolate I’ll check out Ghiradelli and Lindt as they’re much cheaper than the “vegan” labeled chocolate! I’ve definitely been checking labels before I eat anything. I’m a dark chocolate lover all the way, milk is usually way too sweet for me. =)

Leave a Reply

