Mmmmmuffins!

Today is my mom’s birthday!

Happy Birthday Mom!

I wanted to make her something yummy and surprise her at work. She doesn’t have a thing for really sugary desserts and she’s been trying to eat healthier lately, so I scrounged some websites for an idea. Now I know that its a wee bit past pumpkin season, but I saw these pumpkin muffins over at Hell Yeah Its Vegan and I knew that they would be great! I made a few changes and voila! Perfect sweetness for mom and I without masking the beautiful flavor of the pumpkin.

And you know what?

It sure as hell is vegan! And tasty, too!

Maple Vanilla Pumpkin Muffins
1 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour (I might substitute some oats next time)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350. Combine wet ingredients and stir well with a wooden spoon. Mix dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Fold dry ingredients into wet until just combined. Spoon batter into lined muffin tins and bake about 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Because of how moist these cupcakes are you’ll need to eat them fairly soon after they’re baked, within a few days. Or you can freeze those bad boys and make them last forever! Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Mmmmmuffins!

  1. Happy Birthday to your sweet mom! What a great way to celebrate her special day. I adore pumpkin muffins. I just made some last night! Thank you for sharing such a creative and delicious recipe with me. I hope you have a safe and warm day tomorrow…we’re about to get very cold in Austin!

    • Aww thanks, Monet! My mom and I are supposed to get together to watch movies tonight but we’re in for a blizzard up here – at least a foot of snow! It will make for an interesting day at work! Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

