Another Round of Tofu

Yep, that’s tofu! Nice, spicy, crusty, delicious tofu. Hmm.. crusty and delicious never sound so great together unless you’re talking about food, huh?

Yesterday afternoon, while awaiting the impending doom of the blizzard at work, I was perusing The Pioneer Woman’s website. I perused my way onto her post about her beef fajita nachos. Even though she was talking about marinating beef, which as of late has made me nauseous to think about, I was drooling by the end of the page.

My first thought was that I HAD to incorporate this marinade into something I could eat. My second thought was that I had tofu in the fridge at home. BINGO!

I threw together the marinade, drained my tofu, then marinated that luscious block of soy overnight. Boy it was delicious. BOY it was spicy. But that’s why I used the pineapple. Its also why I chose to watch Die Hard while scarfing down my dinner. Ok maybe that’s not the reason.

I have a thing for Bruce Willis and Alan Rickman.

*chomp*

Yippie Kai-ay.. well.. you know the rest..

Chipotle Lime Tofu
1 block extra firm tofu
3 large cloves garlic
3 whole chipotle peppers, with sauce
Juice of 2 limes
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons water

Cut tofu into 6 blocks, then press extra moisture out between paper towels and something heavy for about an hour. You’ll probably have to change the paper towels a couple times to get it nice and “dry”.

While your tofu is draining, mix up your marinade. Into your food processor, toss the garlic, chipotle, lime juice, olive oil and water and blend until smooth. Or as smooth as you can get it. Mine was still chunky, but I’m ok with chunky sauce.

After your tofu is ready to go and your marinade is ready to impart flavor; place the tofu in a ziplock bag and pour the marinade over the top. Press the air out of the bag, roll it on top of itself and place that bad boy in the fridge for at least 24 hours. You can probably leave it in there for up to 3 days, I’m experimenting with 2 pieces I didn’t cook up tonight to see if leaving it longer effects the flavor of the tofu any.

Once you’re ready to fry-er-up, heat a pan over medium heat with about 2 teaspoons olive oil. Place 3-4 pieces of tofu in the pan, cover with a sheet of aluminum foil and place a nice heavy cast iron pan over that to press the tofu into that hot oil. I saw Rachael Ray do this the other day with her spicy mustard chicken and decided to try it. I wanted to see if it would help crust up the tofu, but I don’t know if it made a difference. It made me feel fancy, anywho! Cook that tofu for 5-8 minutes, flip and recover/press it and cook for 5-8 more minutes until it is as crispy as you like it. Now you could probably cube that up and toss it with pasta, throw it into some tortillas with some “cheeze” and some sour “cream” or you could do what I did and lay it on top of some red leaf lettuce with some pineapple. Just roll and chow down!

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

9 thoughts on “Another Round of Tofu

    • Mine, too! I love to get my tofu from H-Mart, an asian grocer about an hour and a half drive from me. They have the absolute best extra firm tofu I’ve ever tasted and numerous other types I’ve never tried before. Can’t wait for my next trip to stock up!

    • Thanks! The first time I had tofu was in miso soup at a sushi place and I’ve loved it ever since! I keep thinking about that raspberry truffle bread you posted a few days ago.. trade you: tofu for bread!

  1. haha I just found the “legs” too! They are by Museum Campus/Solider Field lol! They are so cool. BTW i never can get my tofu to look like that 😦

    xoxo
    Lolo

    • I’ll have to check them out next time I’m downtown, which will hopefully be soon! It has been TOO long since I’ve seen the sights! I’m still figuring out the tofu thing but draining helps a ton; the drier you can get it the better it crisps. =)

  2. This looks and sounds awesome! I’d really love to try it. I used to eat tofu all the time when I was a vegetarian, but I’ve had to be really careful about eating soy because my doctor says it interferes with the thyroid medicine I take.

    I do use some soy sauce, but I try to use it only once a week. But my honey is nuts about tofu, so maybe we’ll make this one night next week. As long as I skip the soy the rest of the week it should be okay. 🙂

    • Wow that has to be rough. You never realize how many products contain soy until you’re looking for it. It never ceases to amaze me! You could use the marinade for fish or chicken or maybe seitan (I’ve never tried it but I’m itching to) and make half tofu for the honey. =) I hope you enjoy whichever route you decide to take!

Leave a Reply

