Snow Day!

I got “lucky”! We NEVER get snow days working at the bank. Then last night that monster of a blizzard (the likes of which I haven’t seen since I was in high school) came through town and BAM, Snow-Whipping City! We got well over a foot of snow overnight, along with some nasty howling wind. It enabled us to leave work early yesterday and have the day off work! Unfortunately for me, this Snow Day came on my day off.

*sigh*

You can barely see my car! And the snow plow "poop" blocking it in..

Oh well, Snow Day = Eat Day, right? I hope so, because that’s all I’ve been doing today! Well, aside from shoveling and napping..

Last night I got the itch again. The itch to make granola. I’ve been craving it like mad but holding off. This time, instead of making my delicious calorie-laden peanut butter and chocolate granola, I decided to go a different route and make some quinoa granola.

Now you see, I’ve tried to like quinoa. I’ve made it into pilaf, cooked it in pineapple juice and stir fried it; I just can’t get into the stuff that way. But I sure do like it in granola form. It stays nice and crunchy and I can’t get enough! Equally as delicious as the peanut butter stuff but much more “figure friendly”. Fit for a day of nibbling!

I loosely followed Ashley’s recipe for quinoa granola over at The Edible Perspective. I made a few changes to fit the recipe to ingredients I had on hand and I’ll repost with the ingredients I did use here. However, if you get the chance to click on over to Ashley’s site, please do. I get amazing ideas from her and her pictures are something to behold!

Maple Vanilla Granola

1 cup quinoa, rinsed well
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste
2 cinnamon sticks
3 tablespoons flax seed
1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/4 cup walnut pieces
2 tablespoons dried cranberries
2 tablespoons dried blueberries
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/8 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium saucepan, bring quinoa, almond milk, water, vanilla and cinnamon sticks to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer until all liquid is absorbed. In another bowl, combine flax, coconut, walnuts, cranberries, blueberries, syrup and salt. Remove cinnamon sticks from quinoa and add the quinoa to the bowl with your other goodies. Stir well and spread evenly on either a non stick cookie sheet or a regular cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake the mixture for one hour, stirring every 15 to 20 minutes to keep from burning. Allow the granola to cool completely before storing.

3 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. That looks wonderful! I make granola all the time but it never occurred to me to make granola with quinoa. I’ll definitely try this recipe. I love quinoa so I’m sure I’ll love this! I can’t wait to try it! 🙂

  2. You got butter on my oats! « Peanut Butter and Ginger

Leave a Reply

