You got butter on my oats!

I squealed with happiness last night when I finally, FINALLY got my walnut butter to be the right consistency! How exciting IS that?? Well.. if you don’t like walnut butter probably not very.. but I love the stuff! It is a nice break from peanut butter once in a while. Not that anyone really needs a break from peanut butter. Just to clear the air there. =)

Cocoa Walnut Butter
2 cups walnut pieces, unsalted
1/2 cup cashews, unsalted
1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
3 teaspoons dark cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean paste

All I did was roast the walnuts at 350 degrees until one burned my tongue when I tried it. Yep that was my judgement. I forgot to time them. It was probably about 8-10 minutes. I did the same for the cashews and then spun them in the food processor until they were perfectly smooth and glossy! Fantastic!

I did the best thing I could think to do with my perfect butter: I dripped it on my oats! Well gobbed it on, rather. I make oats nearly every morning. The only time I don’t have oats is when I have toast and fruit or use Ashley’s yummy recipe for Vanilla Bean Brown Rice. This morning my oats looked something like this:

Matcha Oats
3 tablespoons rolled oats
2 tablespoons wheat bran
1 tablespoon flax seed
2 teaspoons matcha powder
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 banana, sliced
3/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup water

Bring the milk, water and banana up to a simmer over medium/low heat. Mix together oats, bran, flax seed, matcha and cayenne, then whisk into the simmering milk mixture. Cook over low heat until the oats get thick, whisking occasionally. Pour into a bowl and top with yumminess! I topped mine with the cocoa walnut butter, a sprinkle of unsweetened coconut and some maple vanilla granola. Mmmmm!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “You got butter on my oats!

  1. How Corny! « Peanut Butter and Ginger

Leave a Reply

