How Corny!

So Tuesday morning I checked out some more vegan cookbooks from the library. SCORE! I’ve already come across about 30 recipes I have got to try! Some of those I will be posting about after this weekend. It is Annivalentinese New Year celebration weekend for Kyle and I! Greek themed, even! I had to be different.

In the Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health cookbook, I found a recipe for corn bread. Now I’m a cornbread spaz. I can’t get enough. This recipe looked so good I just couldn’t wait until I had all the correct ingredients to try it. So what did I do? I improvised.

This is what came out of it:

Warmed up and topped with my cocoa walnut butter and some sliced nanners, of course!

Chipotle Buckwheat Cornbread (adapted from Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health)
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
1/2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons maple syrup
3/4 cup almond milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly oil a 9-inch metal pie plate and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, mix together buckwheat, cornmeal, baking powder, salt and chipotle powder. In a separate bowl, whisk together vinegar, oil, maple syrup and almond milk. Slowly pour wet mixture over dry mixture and stir until just combined. Pour the batter into the pie plate and bake 15-20 minutes or until the center is just set and the edges are slightly pulling away from the side. Allow to cool overnight before slicing.

This was so yummy! I made it with 1/4 teaspoon chipotle but I think I would up the dosage to 1/2 teaspoon or more the next time. I like some kick!

Yesterday I also received an exciting package at work! I recently won a contest on The Kind Life’s website. I was in dire need of some new makeup tools and a makeup bag! Plus I have two extra bags I can set aside!


Sweet!

2 thoughts on “How Corny!

  1. What great goodies…and what great bread! Don’t you just adore Moosewood? I would love to visit the original collective. We have two of their cookbooks, and they are some of our favorites! I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow. Take time to love yourself and those that are dearest to your heart!

    • I had heard of the Moosewood cookbooks but had never looked through one until I found it at the library. I do love it! I have added it to the cookbook list that I must buy! Have a wonderful day, Monet!

Leave a comment