Oh greens, how I love thee..

I have been craving greens something fierce. You know how those chocolate cravings can get at *ahem* certain times? It was THAT strong of a craving. So strong that 90% of everything I bought at the store was green. Included in that “everything” were some chard leaves. Some time back I was floored by a unique breakfast creation on The Edible Perspective. Ashley cleverly created the green wrapped breakfast.

I couldn’t wait for this morning to come so I could chow down! I will tell you, these were A.M.A.Z.I.N.G and they kept me full through work. All four hours of it. Aaah banking hours..

Chard Wraps (adapted from The Edible Perspective)
2 large swiss chard leaves, washed and de-stemmed
1 tablespoon cocoa walnut butter
1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 tablespoon dried blueberries
1/2 tablespoon maple syrup
sprinkling cayenne pepper (optional)
1 banana, halved

Split walnut butter in half and spread evenly on both chard leaves. Sprinkle coconut, flax, blueberries and maple syrup evenly between leaves, followed by cayenne. Place banana halves in leaves, closest to the tip, and roll ‘er up! I can’t wait to make this again!

This afternoon Grams and I lunched at Baker’s Square. I have never had a bad experience in the many years I’ve enjoyed going there. The waitress was wonderful and kindly wrote down the substitutions I made to my order (the butternut squash salad) to veganize it (leaving out the chicken and bacon while adding avocado, tomato and olives with a teeny side of hummus). My options when wanting to dine out are pretty limited around here so it is key to have a waitress that pays attention and gets the job done. She definitely got an extra tip. =)

To add to my already fantasmic day, Kyle made dinner!

He’s learning to cook in general and picked out a recipe from Peas and Thank You for Roasted Chickpea Tacos. I’m pretty sensitive to salt so we would use a bit less next time, but the flavors were right on point. How great is that? Chickpeas in a taco! Love it!

As an added surprise, Kyle surprised me with a bottle of perfume I’ve been lusting after for a few years. And momma surprised me with a new book to read!

I just finished Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi on Thursday. Not for the faint of heart, this book was everything I expected it to be; beautiful, real, heartbreakingly brutal and captivating. I couldn’t put it down.

This was the randomness of my rambling mind about my fabulous day. Over and out!

7 thoughts on “Oh greens, how I love thee..

  1. Hey Lauren,

    I love chard wraps! Second only to collard wraps. πŸ˜‰ These look great.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Re: the almond cheese, I do think you could sub walnuts but it would be a very different taste and texture. . .walnuts have more fat and so it might be very rich. Cashew cheese is also nice if you can eat cashews. πŸ™‚ Let me know what you think if you give it a try! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Ricki! I’ll let you know if I try it out! I’ve got a family party coming up and I am bringing a vegan dish to share, but I’m unsure of what to bring exactly.

      I’ve been obsessed with wrapping anything and everything in greens lately. =)

  2. Oh what a great idea! I want to try these chard wraps. Yay for new perfume too! And for that Miranda July book. I really enjoyed it! Thank you for sharing with me tonight. Hugs and well wishes from Austin! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. These chard wraps do look delicious. I really enjoy chard. I think a lot folks are missing out on the appreciation of this wonderful green.

    Looks like your Valentine’s Day was good to you.

    Cheers.
    Velva

    • Velva and Monet, I hope you both had a fantastic Valentine’s Day as well! I’ve been addicted to chard wraps since my first bite and one always accompanies my oatmeal!

      Monet, I’m so excited that you enjoyed the Miranda July book! I look forward to reading the stories myself. Keep warm down there in Austin!

Leave a Reply

