This is how the crumble.. crumbles..

A flash in my mind’s eye while leaving work last night. Why couldn’t I make a savory crumble? I’d never made a regular crumble but that shouldn’t stop me.

So you know what?

I made one.

Oh yeah.

And it was delicious!

I think I’ll end up making another one at some point. I’ll change it up a bit and use different veggies. The possibilities are endless!

Poblano Corn Crumble
1 onion, sliced
1 large poblano pepper, chopped
1/2 cup tightly packed chopped collard leaves
1 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup black beans, cooked
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
2 tablespoons non dairy milk
1/8 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large skillet over medium heat, heat olive oil and saute onions until they start to turn clear. Add in poblano pepper and salt and cook for about 5 minutes. Toss in the garlic, corn, collards and black beans, reduce heat to low, cover and cook 5-10 minutes, stirring twice. While that’s cooking, whisk together nutritional yeast and milk. Turn heat off and stir in milk mixture. Spread the veggies in a pie plate, set aside and mix up the crumble topping.

In a large bowl, mix together the following:
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon maple syrup (I opted for a locally made honey mustard blend since I’m ok with eating honey)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Mash a fork around in there until everything is good and wet. Sprinkle the crumble topping evenly on top of the veggies. Bake 35 – 40 minutes and serve hot.

2 thoughts on “This is how the crumble.. crumbles..

  1. Savory Crumble! I love the idea! I think corn was a perfect choice…and beans of course. Thank you for sharing yourself with me tonight. Your words and recipes always bring me joy.

    • Thank you for your sweet words, Monet. I was so pleasantly surprised with how this dish turned out. The honey mustard gave it the right amount of tangy sweet. I can’t wait to swap in some different veggies, too. Maybe this will be my “veggies about to go bad” go to dish!

Leave a Reply

