Hot DOG it’s vegan!

That’s right, I made vegan hot dogs. I was SO proud of myself I ran outside jumping up and down with pride to meet Kyle.

“Guess what I did, guess what I did?!”
*hop*
*hop*
*hop*

I then demanded he hurry up and make himself a dog and get to work on chowing!

I saw the seitan dogs on (never home)maker and was utterly intrigued by the idea. I got to work and switched up a few ingredients but pretty much followed the recipe.

I made some oatmeal dill buns to go with the dogs, too! There isn’t a recipe for those because, well, the dough they were made from was a mistake. I had wanted to make a loaf of bread for our security officer at the bank but I wasn’t sure that the variation I tried would work after my first loaf turned out a little gummy. I’m ok with slightly gummy bread so I just whipped up a different batch for him and kept the “oatmealy goop” for myself! Well the “goop” turned out well for the buns but I won’t make them again the same way!

The first round of dogs had a topping of a chunky pickle relish, brown mustard and sriracha (served with a side of roasted kale chips). The second round with spicy italian giardiniera and tomato paste for a completely different flavor!

I couldn’t get over the texture of these vegan dogs – so incredibly similar to a normal grilled sausage! I will definitely make these again (and spicier) during grilling season!

Vegan Hot Dogs (adapted from (never home)maker – makes 6 dogs)
1 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons vital wheat gluten
2 tablespoons buckwheat flour
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoons black pepper
3/4 cup plus 2 teaspoons cold water
4 teaspoons tomato paste
2 cloves garlic
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 tablespoon adobo sauce (I added this after the fact since the “dough” was a bit dry. Water would work, too)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Prepare 6 pieces of aluminum foil and set aside.

Mix gluten, flour, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper and paprika in a large bowl. Set aside. In a blender, combine water, tomato paste, garlic, olive oil and adobo (or water) and puree until smooth. Make a well in the dry ingredients and slowly pour in puree. I started out mixing with a small spoon and continued on with my hands, kneading until the color was uniform. Split into 6 portions and form into hot dog shapes. This takes a lot of muscle and pounding but, trust me, it’s worth it!

Place your dogs on your foil wrappers and wrap them snug as bugs in rugs! Twist up the ends of the foil and place on a cookie sheet.

Bake 25-30 minutes or until they start to feel a bit springy. (Never home)maker warns not to over bake them or they’ll be too stiff.

Serve on buns and top with whatever your heart desires! Maybe some homemade ketchup!

Mmmmm!

11 thoughts on “Hot DOG it’s vegan!

  1. Veggie hot dogs…without soy? I HAVE to try this! I can’t eat very much of anything that contains soy because it interferes with the thyroid medicine I take, so of course, those tofu dogs are out of the question for me.

    I’m curious though how these would be without the brewer’s yeast. Does it contribute to the texture?

    I would like to not have to purchase brewer’s yeast if I can get by without it because I don’t want it sitting in my cupboard not being used. If the brewer’s yeast is essential I’ll go ahead and buy it because I do want to try these. They look so good and I like how the texture of them look.

    Bet they go great with a nice cold beer! šŸ™‚

    • I would assume they should be fine without the brewer’s yeast. I think it’s just for flavoring. The original recipe called for 1/4 cup of it and I cut down to 2 tablespoons. I only used it because I have some in the cabinet and I’m kinda obsessed with it! But give it a shot without it, maybe add in some extra spice or something instead! I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

      They do go great with a cold beer! =)

      • Thanks, Lauren. šŸ™‚ I looked for brewer’s yeast in the store today and couldn’t find it so I’ll try it without it and see how it turns out. But dang it…I forgot to buy the vital wheat gluten. But it’s on my shopping list for next week so I can give it try. šŸ™‚ Thanks again, sheila

  2. Can you please come over to my house and make these tomorrow night?!?! Congratulations. They look and sound amazing. I want one so badly šŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing your words and this recipe. And thank you for your kind thoughts on my own blog. I appreciate you!

    • Aww thank you, Monet! If only I could figure out a way to get one of these to you! I always look forward to your comments as well. I’m so glad to have found your blog. I know there is always a great story and recipe to discover there! Have a fantastic night!

  3. hi Lauren, Well, I just made them today, and I really liked how they tasted. They had a wonderful flavor.

    The only thing is I didn’t care for the texture. They seemed too soft and gummy inside so I tried baking them longer but it didn’t change the texture at all.

    Anyway, I’m wondering if adding a little bit of vital gluten to my bean burgers might help them hold together better. From making these vegan hot dogs, I get the definite impression it will.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe, and i’m glad to have tried something different. Just wish I didn’t have a problem with that texture thing. šŸ˜¦

    • Hey Sheila,

      Sorry the texture thing didn’t work out for you! I’ve only made the dogs once, but I made some patties a month or so ago that were too gummy until I microwaved them. I’ll update after I make the dogs again in the future and see if they come out differently with more humidity in the air.

      I would imagine the vital wheat gluten will help the bean burgers hold together!

      Thanks for trying them out and letting me know the outcome!

      =)

Leave a Reply

