Soup has me sold!

When it’s this cold out (yes it is snowing.. again..) all I can think about is soup. And chili. Oh man.. why didn’t I make chili?? Later this week perhaps.

I’ve been eating a lot of pasta lately, so I wanted to eat something that was a little less heavy tonight. I am in LOVE with red peppers so I chopped some of those up and just randomly threw some other veggies in the crock-pot this afternoon before heading to work. Half days are great for crock-pot soup since I know I’ll be home and ready to eat in 4 1/2 hours instead of 9.

I don’t like much salt in my food, so I added it in the form of the yummy toppings I threw on after the fact. This time I used some of the leftover ricotta tofu and kale pesto from last night. You could top this with whatever you like, avocado is always a great option!

Red Pepper and Rice Soup
1/4 cup beans, soaked overnight (I used flageolet beans)
1/4 cup brown or black rice, rinsed
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 stalk celery, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons corn kernels
2 cups water (you could also use veggie stock here)
1/8 teaspoon chipotle powder

Throw all ingredients in your tiny (and in my case, borrowed) crock-pot, give it a quick stir, cover and set the heat to low. Cook for 4 1/2-5 hours or until beans are done to your liking. Add desired toppings!

3 thoughts on “Soup has me sold!

  1. Sounds yummy! I need to get me a crock pot. I had one but gave it to a friend who needed one. I want to get a large one with a removable liner to make clean-up easier.
    I’ve never heard of flageolet beans by the way. I’ll have to Google it to see what it looks like.

    • I need to get myself a crockpot with a timer and a temperature gauge. Ah the wishlist.. Flageolet beans aren’t as flavorful as other beans, but I’ve got them so I’ll use them until they’re gone. I probably wouldn’t buy them again but they aren’t bad in a pinch. Maybe I should cook them up and make some hummus with them.

  2. You are like me. I’m not a huge salt girl, but I love adding some salty toppings to my bowls of soup or pasta. Thanks for sharing, my friend. This looks scrumptious. Many blessings to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

