Loving it to Peases

Oh me oh my I have been on a soup kick.

While wandering through Jewel before work this afternoon (hooray for half days) I stumbled across some split yellow peas. On sale. I scooped those bad boys up, knowing just the recipe I wanted to use them for.

In my little recipe notebook I carry everywhere, I had printed out and taped inside a recipe for Chipotle Split Pea Soup from Melomeals: Vegan for $3.33 a Day. Sounds delish, amiright?

Well of COURSE I didn’t have a lot of the ingredients so I tweaked the recipe to accommodate. I still want to try Melody’s original recipe but I must say that I am in LOVE with the soup I created tonight. Spicy, flavorful, hearty.. everything I could ask for.

Except that thickness that pureeing some of it with an immersion blender might give me.

Until then, pour me a vat of that.

Split Pea and Potato Soup (adapted from Melomeals: Vegan for $3.33 a Day)
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 large onion, diced
1 teaspoon yellow mustard seeds
1 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon cumin
freshly cracked black pepper
6-8 cloves garlic, crushed and diced
6 dried red chiles, rehydrated (optional)
1/2 pound dry yellow split peas, rinsed
6 cups water
1 vegetable bullion cube
2 cups chopped potatoes
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

In a large pot, heat oils over medium heat. Toss in those onions and get them sizzling. After 5 minutes, add in the mustard seed, cumin, basil and pepper. Stir and cook 5 minutes more. Throw in garlic and chiles and cook, yep, another 5 minutes. Now it’s time to add the peas, stirring to coat before adding the water and bullion cube. Increase heat and bring the soup to a boil, boiling for 2-3 minutes, then reduce and cover. Cook for 15 minutes, stir in potatoes and nutritional yeast, re-cover and cook another 15 minutes. Once the potatoes are fork tender you’re ready to eat!

Garnish with paprika and black pepper. Some fresh cilantro would be heavenly on top, too.

Warning: If using the chiles, do NOT attempt to chow on them unless you need to light some candles with your breath!

6 thoughts on “Loving it to Peases

  1. Do you know how much I adore split pea soups? They are my favorite! Thank you for sharing your words and recipe tonight. I’m drooling. I hope you have a beautiful day tomorrow. Happy Hump Day!

    • Thanks, Laura! My problem with finding so many websites with delicious recipes is that I have too many recipes and not enough days of the week!

  2. Neat-o Cool! « Peanut Butter and Ginger

Leave a Reply

