Neat-o Cool!

I want to start off this post by saying that tonight I had the best “neat”loaf I’ve ever had. Technically it’s also the first I’ve ever had, but it will not be the last! The best meatloaf prize still goes to Kyle’s mom. =)

More on dinner in a bit.

Last night was a blast! It was great to see the family and my little niece.

She is way too cute for her own good!

We made pizzas. Lots of them.

NOM!

Dad's cutting up their deep dish creation!

I made myself a veggie one and proceeded to eat 3/4 of the thing myself!

Worth every bite! Every veggie that was laid out ended up on this bad boy!

I blame it on these:

Mom’s margaritas go down too easy. =)

I got tonight’s recipe for Neatloaf over at Oh She Glows. Angela absolutely NAILED the texture of real meatloaf with her recipe for the Ultimate Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf. My friend Melba enjoyed her first vegan meal with this recipe. I was happy to be the one to make it for her!

This recipe made a lot of food! Last week I was all about my Split Pea and Potato Soup and this week is all about the split peas in this loaf! I’m way too excited for lunch!

I was too excited to eat this and didn't take many photos!

I followed Angela’s recipe almost exactly. Why change perfection? My differences were to use yellow split peas instead of lentils.. are they the same thing? I really didn’t know but just assumed I could swap them easily. I was right in that regard! Anyway.. let’s see.. I also left out the carrot and added a 1/2 ounce bag of dried crimini mushrooms in with the lentils while they were cooking. I added 1/4 teaspoon of Liquid Smoke (the company proudly claims that they are vegan and gluten-free right on the label. Mega cool of them) and used the toasted bread method for the bread crumbs. I pureed 75% of my onion mixture as well as the lentil mixture since my chunks of onion were pretty large.

You know what else? I made my own ketchup to go on top.

Oh yes I did.

It was easy but really messy. Just an fyi: warm homemade ketchup just tastes like marinara sauce. As it cooled I noticed it tasting more like ketchup. Maybe that explains why I like to eat spaghetti right out of the fridge..

Homemade Ketchup
1 28 ounce can whole peeled tomatoes
2 cloves crushed and diced garlic
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried thyme
2 teaspoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
2 bay leaves
pinch of salt
pinch of cloves
pinch of cinnamon

In a medium pot over medium heat, add all ingredients and heat until it just starts to bubble. Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook 30-40 minutes. Stir occasionally to keep the tomatoes from burning. Cool and puree in a blender. Store in the fridge and try not to just eat it with a spoon..

14 thoughts on “Neat-o Cool!

  1. I love your veggie pizza- I love onions on my pizza too. I was so happy when I discovered how easy it is to make homemade ketchup and mustard. I like the spice combination in your recipe- looks tasty!

    • Thanks, Meri! It’s so funny to me that I used to HATE onions on my pizza. I wouldn’t even pick them off. Something about the crunch with the chewy pizza. Now I can’t get enough of them, though!

  2. Yummmm!!! Margaritas and pizza!! Looks wonderful! πŸ™‚

    The vegan lentil walnut loaf looks great, and making your own ketchup to go on top was a wonderful idea! I’ve never made my own ketchup before but it’s definitely something I want to do. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

