Oat Fanatic

That’s me.  The oat girl. I can’t get enough.  

Morning oatmeal, overnight oats, granola.  I adore granola.  I rarely make it because I can’t stay away.  Really.  I’ll eat the entire thing if you let me.  Before it’s even cooled.

Since I used my last cup of rolled oats, I had to be sure to save some for breakfast.

Spicy and chewy, yet crunchy with a hint of sweetness from the banana. It was difficult to resist.

Good thing the book I’ve been jonesing for became available at the library! It might keep me occupied for a bit.

Spicy Banana Granola
1 banana
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons flax meal
1 tablespoon oil (I used spicy sesame oil)
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup dried blueberries
1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon anise seed
1/8-1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
dash of nutritional yeast (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, toss together oats, blueberries, coconut, cinnamon, anise seed, cayenne and nutritional yeast. Set aside. Puree banana, water, oil and flax, then add to the dry mixture and combine well. Spread evenly on a cookie sheet (I’m stubborn and didn’t grease it but it might be easier if you did) and stick that sucker in the oven. Using a spatula, I broke up the granola “sheet” into pieces about 15 minutes in, then checked on it every 10 minutes or so until it was crispy to my liking. Cool completely before storing or it won’t have any crisp to it!

10 thoughts on “Oat Fanatic

  1. This is definitely an interesting granola recipe! I like the addition of banana and chili powder, but I’m not real fond of anise. It’s just one of those flavors I don’t care too much for. But other than that it sounds great! 🙂 Have a nice weekend, Lauren. 🙂

    • I used to despise anise but somewhere within the last year I became obsessed with it. I’m sure any other spice or even just omitting it altogether would be just as tasty. =) Enjoy your weekend, too!

  2. I love granola too. I especially love making it. This banana flavored granola sounds too good! Thank you for sharing your creativity with me! I hope you have a blessed Sunday. You make me smile 🙂

    • You can’t really taste the nutritional yeast. I just figured it’d be a good way to add in some B12! I am a sucker for adding cayenne to just about anything. I sprinkle it on my apples, too.

    • Hi Jenn! Give it a go! I love the fact that I can add anything I want if I make the granola myself. Let me know how it turns out for you if you try it!

Leave a Reply

