The Best $50 Purchase

Today the clouds parted and the sun shone down on the newest addition to my kitchen:

I finally splurged and bought this bad boy. I originally went in to Kohls for the discontinued model. However, they were sold out of the discontinued model and sold me the stainless steel model for the same price! With my coupon and some Kohls cash, the total came to $52.05!! Entirely worth the wait!

Last night I had whipped up some savory almond butter after drooling over Ashley’s recipe over at the Edible Perspective. Though the flavor was phenomenal, the consistency of my delicious creation was the last straw for my clunky food processor.

Leon (I have named the “new guy”) turned this:

into this:

All together now..

MMMMMMMMM!!

Smoky Savory Almond Butter (adapted from the Edible Perspective)
1 1/2 cups raw almonds
2 tablespoons raw cashews
2 tablespoons flax meal
1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1/8 teaspoon smoked salt
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
2-3 drops of liquid smoke (optional)

Roast almonds at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Allow to cool for a few minutes while you combine all remaining ingredients, reserving only the cashews and liquid smoke. Place almonds, cashews and liquid smoke in food processor and blend until the almonds start to turn creamy. Add in spices and continue to blend until desired consistency is reached.

Then try to keep the spoon out of the jar. 😉

6 thoughts on “The Best $50 Purchase

  1. Congrats on the exciting new purchase 😉 I never knew what I was missing out on when I didn’t have a processor. Now I tremble at the thought of not being able to craft my own nut butters1
    This smoked almond butter sounds awesome. I love that it’s got some cashews in it, too :]

  2. Hands Off, Charlie Brown « Peanut Butter and Ginger

  3. Hands Off, Charlie Brown « Peanut Butter and Ginger

Leave a Reply

