Hands Off, Charlie Brown

Obsessed for weeks with the idea of minty nut butter, I took the plunge tonight. At first I was a worried that it would be too bitter, too strong.

But Leon was standing there, ready and willing to whip the ingredients into submission.

So we attacked that mint extract and cocoa powder, forcing it to coexist with the walnuts and almonds. The result?

Heaven on a spoon.

I called it Peppermint Patty Butter at first, but it tastes more like a Thin Mint. Mmm.. liquid Thin Mints.

Now that’s dangerous.

Peppermint Patty/Thin Mint Butter
2 cups raw walnuts
1/2 cup raw almonds
3 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 tablespoon unsweetened coconut
2 dates
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4-1/2 teaspoon mint extract
1/4 teaspoon salt

Roast walnuts and almonds on separate cookie sheets at 350 for 10 minutes, stirring once. Allow to cool for 5 minutes.

In a food processor, puree nuts, cocoa powder, coconut and dates until a smooth butter forms. This should take about 10 minutes. With the food processor running, add in extracts and salt.

Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Hands Off, Charlie Brown

  1. Mmm, I’m definitely a mint girl (hello Dairy Queen mint oreo blizzard- Il’l do a truce with dairy for you…)
    I was skeptical upon first glancing, then saw the cocoa… definitely an important distinction. Mint PB without the cocoa might be scary.

    Glad it worked out- now I’ll have to try it 🙂

    • Thanks, Meri! I agree that plain mint nut butter would be frightening. The cocoa is definitely the key ingredient!

      Oooh.. DQ. Lately I’ve been craving ice cream like there’s no tomorrow!! I’ll have to whip some up soon. Maybe put a swirl of this butter in there.. hmm..

  2. This looks amazing!! I’d been toying with the idea of introducing peppermint extract to a nut butter but was fearful, too. Glad to see it can be done. Now I’ve gotta give it a try! (…er, at least once I finish up another jar or two…)

  3. It’s always fun to experiment when you have taste testers available…and my gang will try anything chocolate!

    I have a question for you…do you mind e-mailing me at lizzy.do at gmail.com? Thanks!

  4. Smile. I love thin mints. And I love the sound of this nut butter. Thank you for sharing with me tonight. After such a difficult week, it has been so refreshing to return to the blogs (and bloggers) that I love. I hope you have a blessed Sunday, sweet girl!

  5. It sounds so good!!! If I ever get me a good food processor I’ll make this. I was looking at the Cuisinart you got at Kohls. I like that it’s stainless steel. Is it easy to clean and put back together?

    • The food processor is a little difficult for me to wash due to my tiny sink, but it’s 100 times easier to wash than my old one! And fairly easy to put back together. I hope you get a food processor soon, no one should be without this nut butter in the fridge! I keep dipping my spoon in there every time I walk by!

Leave a Reply

