Ode to Okra

First off I want to thank Angela for featuring my meat(less)balls in her Recipe Link Love for today! I love that she features vegan recipes from tons of bloggers.. but it makes my recipe pile start to teeter a bit!

My mom still raves about my “really yummy meatballs” whenever she talks about my switch to vegan eating. I think she likes them more than I did!

I’m so glad to have such a proud mama! =)

She would probably like what I whipped up for dinner last night, too. I know I was pretty pleased!

I give you: Spicy Okra Mole!

If you’ve never tried okra, I suggest you give it a whirl. The flavor and the crunch even after it cooks makes the fact that it looks a little sticky while cooking bearable. =)

I’ve been wanting to make the tofu mole out of the Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health cookbook for a while now. I checked the book back out of the library just so I could get the recipe. My only reservation was that I didn’t want to eat tofu. I ate a lot of it over the weekend. I decided that the best substitute for the day was the okra I had hanging out in the freezer!

I’m so glad I made the substitution! Yum!

Here’s my adaption of the recipe from the Moosewood cookbook!

Spicy Okra Mole (adapted from Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, diced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cumin
2 chipotle peppers from a can, diced
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
2 cups sliced okra (I used frozen)
1 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes
1/2 can water (using the can from the tomatoes)

In a medium pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Toss in onions and cook until they start to turn clear. Add in garlic, salt, thyme, cinnamon and cumin. Cook another 2 minutes, then add in okra and chipotle peppers. After about 5 minutes, the okra starts to turn tender. At this point, add in the tomatoes, cocoa powder and water. Bring the mixture to a slow boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

I served my mole sauce over some brown rice and topped it with 1/4 of an avocado, sliced and the juice of half a lime. Nomnomnom. Lunch was fantastic, I tell you!

*****

In other news:

I’m finally getting around to posting the awesomely wonderous “Pudgy Cake” my supervisor, Tami, made for a co-worker’s birthday a few weeks ago. She used the recipe she found over at Cookies and Cups to create this 3 layered humongo cake! She switched it up and used a whipped cream frosting instead of a canned frosting.

Unfortunately the cake was not vegan, but Tami was nice enough to bring me in a small package of Oreos so I could have a sugar rush, too!

My co-workers are so sweet. No pun intended. =)

This bad boy was GONE by the end of the day. We were floored. Sweets + office = demolished!

16 thoughts on “Ode to Okra

    • Thanks, Sheila! I go through phases where I don’t want to eat anything but okra. I just bought another bag last night. I’ve never tried it fresh, though.

      The cake did look phenomenal.. maybe someday I’ll try to make a vegan version for a party.. =)

      • Funny…i’ve never tried it frozen…only fresh. My folks used to make okra all the time when I was a kid, and always hated it. But back then, I was so picky and wouldn’t touch a lot of foods that I love today. I definitely need to give okra another try! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I love okra – can’t wait for fresh to come back in season. There’s something about it’s crunchiness with the gooey inside that I love. Haha

  2. So my sweet mom adores okra. She made me love it too! I can’t wait to make this for her…and of course, now I want a big slice of cake too ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for sharing your words and creativity with me tonight. During good times and bad, your blog always offers me a dose of joy. I hope you have a blessed and happy Sunday, my friend. Hugs from Austin!

    • Such sweet words, Monet! I hope you are doing well and I hope both you and your mom love the mole! Hugs back and I hope you enjoy the remainder of your weekend! =)

  3. This cake is amazing and HUGE! I was surging your blog’s awesome recipes and my eyes hit the cake and I was like HELLO! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by our blog today! We love finding new bloggers. To answer your question, we donโ€™t currently have an email subscription, but we can certainly add one! I loved these cupcakes, but if you like vegan, these are surely my most favorite of all time: http://www.kohlercreated.com/blog/?p=7353

    • Thanks for visiting Jessica! My coworker was SO proud of that cake and I was completely drooling over that cake! Everyone loved it! I’m a lover of orange and chocolate together.. your cupcakes look AMAZING! Yum! I look forward to following your blog!! =)

Leave a Reply

