Here a Bake, there a Bake..

For the past two weeks I have been obsessed with bakes. It all started over the Edible Perspective with her baked buckwheat post.

If you haven’t stopped by her site yet, I suggest you do. Her bakes have been popping up all over the blogging world, as well as the rest of her fabulous recipes. My breakfasts just haven’t been the same since I started reading oh-so-long ago.

There’s been a few flops before I really got it right here. Then I purchased an Italian made soup crock and started experimenting outside of buckwheat (mostly for fear of running out..).

I’ve had 3 major successes. All have been inspired by Ashley’s original recipe.

The first is a blueberry kamut bake.

Stuffed full of wild blueberries and topped with vanilla bean coconut butter!

Blueberry Kamut Bake
1/4 cup raw kamut, ground finely
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 tablespoon raw buckwheat groats
1/2 teaspoon dried sage
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 banana, mashed
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons soy milk (or other non-dairy milk)
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 flax egg (1 tablespoon flax meal + 2 1/2 tablespoons water)
1/4 cup wild blueberries (for filling)

Preheat your oven to 350 and grease your soup crock (or whichever baking vessel you choose to use). Mix up your flax egg and let that sit to the side while you’re working. Mix together your dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the banana, pumpkin, milk and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Add in the egg and mix again.

Spoon half of your mixture into the baking vessel and flatten with a spoon. Arrange the blueberries on top of the batter so there’s a slight border around them. Spoon the rest of your batter on top of the blueberries and flatten. Bake for 30 minutes and top with whatever your heart desires. As is the case with most bakes. πŸ˜‰

Next up is a Mexican Cocoa Bake.

I used the leftover “filling” from my Blueberry Lime Cheesecake from the other day as a filling for my bake. Can you say YUM?!

Mexican Cocoa Bake
1/4 cup chickpea flour
1 tablespoon raw buckwheat groats
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 flax egg
1/2 banana, mashed
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons non dairy milk
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

Following the same procedure as above, whip those ingredients up and stuff the bake with whatever you choose. Be it leftover “cheesecake”, coconut, berries or even just leaving it unstuffed; all options would be wonderful!

The last (but certainly not the least) bake I have for you today is of the savory variety. I enjoyed the bakes so much I started to wonder why I couldn’t make them for dinner, too! So experiment I did!

In my opinion it turned out extremely well. So well that I think I’ll make a larger version for Kyle and I to share sometime. Comfort food: Indian style!

Stuffed Indian Chickpea Bake
1/4 cup chickpea flour
1 tablespoon lentils
1 tablespoon flax meal
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast (optional)
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon mustard seed
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
Pinch ground cloves
1 flax egg
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3 tablespoons non dairy milk
2 cloves garlic, crushed

For the filling:
1 pitted date, diced
1/4 cup chopped frozen spinach
3 mushrooms, sliced
Salt and pepper to taste
Pinch cumin

Saute the date, spinach, mushrooms and spices in a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat. Cook about 5 minutes or until the mushrooms start to brown a bit. Remove from heat, mix up your flax egg and get to mixing up that batter! Layer the ‘shroom mixture into the bake and stick that sucker in the oven!

This guy needs a little more oven time, so bake him for about 35-40 minutes.

I topped this bake with a little savory almond butter and a cranberry/chipotle/strawberry jam I threw together a few mornings ago.

I hope maybe there’s a bake that strikes your fancy in that list! I know I can’t stop with the bakes.

Once you start, you won’t be able to stop either..

I hope to be back tomorrow night for some exciting news!!

21 thoughts on “Here a Bake, there a Bake..

  1. I would love some of all three please! πŸ™‚ I’m really curious about these bakes and would love to try one. I’ll see if I can find buckwheat groats at Whole Foods when we go on Monday. I’ve also never tried a kumquat but would love to! Gonna be on the lookout for those too! πŸ™‚

    • I wish I could share! Have fun at Whole Foods – that’s where I got my buckwheat groats. They’re in the bulk food section! Ooh let me know about the kumquats! Yum!

  2. You know how much I love baked goodies…but I need some healthy treats too! These look and sound so delicious (and healthy too!) Thank you for sharing your sweet self with me tonight. I always know I can find something delicious and uplifting when I visit. I hope you have a safe and happy Sunday.

    • Thank you, Monet! These are really delicious and I urge you to give them a shot some morning. =) I’m going to try them with oats next, I believe.

      Enjoy your week!

    • Thanks, Emily! =) I think you could probably do it with any type of whole grain ground up. I can’t wait to try it with oatmeal or rice flour.

  3. Brand new to your blog but, um, i LOVE the name. I love peanut butter and i love ginger. πŸ™‚ i actually made up a recipe for pb-ginger cookies that was kind of awesome, i haven’t posted it yet now that I think about it, I’ll have to get on it πŸ˜‰

    also looove these bakes! πŸ™‚

    ❀
    n

    • Thanks for stopping by, Nicole! Definitely post your pb&g cookies! It’s an awesome combo, so glad to find someone else out there that made up a recipe for it! =)

  4. wow! I love all your different variations on breakfast bakes, especially savory ones—so inventive. For the indian version, did you use dry or cooked lentils? I can’t wait t make it!

    • Thank you! I used dried lentils but I imagine cooked would work, too. They would just give the bake a sloppier consistency cooked! I hope you enjoy! I have another savory bake to post next week!

  5. You are so sweet!! Thanks for the awesome shout out. Your adaptations look awesome!! I’ve never tried Kamut flour before. Definitely need to! And also need to try that Mexican version. Yum!

    • Thanks, Ashley! I just ground up some whole Kamut like the Buckwheat. I’ll have to start making these again, I’ve been kinda lazy lately! =)

  6. Hai Dear

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…Please check out my blog..It is for food lovers and person who love to cook..You could find so many recipes that you can easily try at home..I update this blog on a regular basis…So please follow me and motivate me..Thank you
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com

    Aarthi

Leave a Reply

