And the award goes to…

I’m sorry I didn’t come back “tomorrow” from my last post. Things have been all up and craziness. We’re moving my Grandma this coming weekend and I feel like I haven’t seen my mom forever, so Sunday I hauled myself down to their house to have lunch with Grandma and dinner with Mom and Dad. Then a friend I haven’t seen forever called, so I went to her house for dessert, a movie and some wine! Yesterday my teeth started aching, dang wisdom teeth, so I have to try to schedule an oral surgery appointment that I can’t afford.

See? Craziness!

Now for some exciting news! Last week I received a note from Sheila over at Elements. The note informed me that I was a recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award! I was so excited and honored! My first award! And an award from a fantastic blogger! Sheila has some beautiful photography of such yummy recipes. The kind of recipes that make you want to have taste-o-vision installed in your computer so you can taste all the yumminess. Please head on over and check out her awesome blog!

Thank you SO much, Sheila!

The rules of accepting and passing on the Versatile Blogger:

*Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
*Tell 7 random facts about yourself.
*Pass the award on to 15 new found bloggers.
*Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so.
*Let the giver of the award know you accept it…or not!

7 random facts about me:
1: I love to dip things. Salsa, guacamole and chips, veggies and hummus, apples and peanut butter, bread and olive oil.. I’m even known to put condiments on the plate instead of on a sammich just so I can dip it.
2: I spent a year working in a dressage horse barn in Brentwood, New York (on Long Island) and 4 months working on an Arabian horse farm in Tucson, Arizona. Unfortunately I’m not currently riding.
3: My mom is my best friend.
4: My favorite meal of the day is breakfast. Oatmeal, bakes, granola, toast, cereal and almond milk.. it’s ALL good!
5: I have an Associate’s Degree in Fine Arts. I’m sorta working on a painting right now but I have painter’s block!
6: I’m traveling to London this year or next to visit my Aunt’s sister (she’s working over there right now) and brother-in-law. Any suggestions on vegan eats?! And Indian ones? =)
7: I don’t have a favorite genre of music. All types of music have beauty and emotion and I want to experience it all.

15 Newly Found Bloggers:
1. Noelle @ An Opera Singer in the Kitchen
2. Anna @ Newly Wed, Newly Veg
3. Heather @ with a Side of Sneakers
4. Snacking on Sunshine
5. Heidi @ Food Doodles
6. Mighty Vegan
7. Jamie @ Make it Healthy
8. Vegan Culinary Crusade
9. Nichole @ Vegan Niche
10. Dreena’s Vegan Recipes
11. Bitt @ Bitt of Raw
12. Mel @ Melomeals: $3.33 a Day
13. Namastegurl
14. Jessica @ Clean Green Simple
15. Sarah @ Baking Serendipity

So there we have it! I love TONS of blogs and I wish I could pass the award on to everyone. Just know that if you haven’t been listed here, I still visit your blog daily and drool over your recipes. =)

Have a great Tuesday, everyone!

30 thoughts on “And the award goes to…

  1. Loved reading more about you! I can totally relate to always want to dip things. I’ve been called a “dipper” numerous times, though that just sounds…weird…to me, haha. I hate eating food naked, though!
    You’ll get through the painter’s block, don’t worry. They happen to us all, but after they’re gone it’s like the creative juices don’t stop!

  2. Thank you for the award Lauren! I’m so happy to have found another breakfast devotee.
    I’m excited to hear you’re heading to London – there are so many amazing vegan spots in the UK. I’m sure you’ll have fun discovering it all.

    xo

  3. Awwww…thank you SO much for all the nice things you said, Lauren! You made me feel great!! 🙂

    I love visiting your website all the time to see what new and interesting things you’re making. You’re challenging me to try new things, and I like that!

    I finally found nutritional yeast by the way, but I forgot the vital wheat gluten (I left my list at home) but I’ll get it next week, and when I do I’m gonna make those vegan hot dogs of yours that I’ve been drooling over!

    Anyway, it was great to learn more about you! I love dipping stuff too, and I’ve always wanted to study fine art. I ended up majoring in psychology, but one day when I can afford it, I’m gonna take some fine art classes. 🙂

    I really enjoyed all the people you gave the award to! I went to all their websites and browsed around, and I’ll definitely be heading back to those blogs again and again because I enjoyed them so much! 🙂

    Anyway, sorry you’ve been so crazy busy, and I hope you’ll be able to take care of your wisdom teeth soon. I know how painful it can be. Hope you don’t have to wait long to get in. 🙂

    Thanks again, Lauren, for all the nice things you said! I really appreciate it! 🙂

    • You’re so welcome, Sheila!

      I appreciate the nomination and all of the great comments you leave here. I’m so glad to hear that you’re challenging yourself with new recipes and ingredients! That’s the part I love most about the blogging world! I can’t wait to see how you like the vegan hot dogs – I’ve been wanting to make them again myself.

      I’ve always been fascinated by psychology. I didn’t have that option at my college, but I really enjoyed the Intro to Psych class they offered during my senior year of high school. I wish I could learn more about photography, too. Someday! By the way, I’m not sure if your blog is allowing me to post, but I wanted to say that I was looking through some of your photo essays. There are some truly powerful, beautiful and moving photos and stories in them.

      Thank you again for having such great content (both food and otherwise) on your blog! =)

      • Sounds like you’re a lot like me, Lauren, in that you have a lot of interests. I could be a full-time student because there’s so much I want to learn, but I’m gonna have to wait until I hit retirement age to finish my studies.

        Here in Kentucky, once you hit retirement age (I can’t remember if it’s 62 or 65 years of age), you can go to college and audit classes for free!!!

        I’ve got about 13 1/2 years left until I’m 62, and while that sounds like a long ways off, I’m sure it’ll go by quickly. 🙂

        I just can’t afford any more college so I’ll wait. 🙂

        Thanks so much for your kind words about our website! I turned off the comments on the photo essays and that’s why you couldn’t comment. But I appreciate you taking the time to tell me. 🙂 Thanks again, sheila

      • I love Kentucky, it’s so beautiful! And a bonus for getting to audit classes after retirement age! =)

        Have a great remainder of your week and a Happy Easter!!

    • You’re so welcome! It was my first award, too! I’m trying a new breakfast idea tomorrow.. can’t wait! Thanks for dropping by and have a great evening!

  4. You’ll have to give us a peek at your painting once your creative juices start flowing again! 😉

Leave a Reply

