Get Your Beta-Carotene Here!

Holy Moley Roley Poley! I’ve discovered a soup that I love better than tomato basil. Better than chicken noodle. A bold claim, I know.

I had been seeing carrot soup crop up everywhere. In one day, I noticed a recipe in my google reader, a recipe on Joy’s website AND a recipe on Guy’s Big Bite. I took it as a sign.

My what a delicious sign it was.

Taking a little something from each recipe I saw, I used the recipe instructions from Joy the Baker. I made the soup the night before I planned on serving it to the suspecting Kyle. This way the soup had a chance to cool so I could blend it in batches in my shnazzy Bullet Blender. I also think that letting the soup sit overnight allowed the flavors to meld together even better.

This soup is great cold or piping hot. The perfect summer soup. Since Mother Nature has insisted on switching from Winter to Summer while skipping my friend Spring.

Is there anything better than bright orange soup?

I didn’t think so.

Carrot Ginger Soup (adapted from Joy the Baker)
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
1 vidalia onion, roughly chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger
1 large red potato, peeled and chopped
4 cups sliced carrots
2 cups vegetable broth
2 cups water
pinch of nutmeg, salt and pepper
fresh cilantro and paprika for garnish

Heat oil in a large pan over medium. Add in onions and cook about 15 minutes or until they start to caramelize a bit. Add ginger, garlic and spices and cook for 3-5 minutes. Add in potato and carrots and cook for 5-10 minutes.

Turn up the heat to medium high and add the broth and water. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until the carrots and potato are softened to your liking. Remove from the flame and allow to cool.

When the soup is cooled, puree in a blender and refrigerate overnight. The next day pour the soup into a large pot and heat over low heat, stirring constantly. Garnish with fresh cilantro and paprika.

Nom nom nom!

12 thoughts on “Get Your Beta-Carotene Here!

  1. I really have to make this! I think my honey might enjoy your version better because it doesn’t have apples in it, making the soup sweet only from the carrots. A soup that is too sweet would make it probably unappealing to him. If I do end up making this, I don’t think I’ll puree it though. 🙂

    • Hey Sheila! It was the perfect sweetness with just the carrots! I’m sure it would be just as tasty un-pureed! =)

      I hope the man likes the soup!

    • Thanks, Katie! I can’t wait to make it again!

      My weekend was fantastic! Hopefully I can blog about it soon (when I get some internet connection going on). Hope yours was great, too!

  2. YUM, looks delish – I love carrot soup, if not for the amazing taste, then for that gorgeous color that livens any dark/cold day. I just updated my RSS reader so I won’t miss any of your posts in the future 😉

    • Hi Angela! Thanks for adding me to your reader! I’m thinking I need to make this soup again! Just as soon as I make it to the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

