Louisville and Indianapolis (with a dash of Lexington)

A few years ago for my birthday my mom took me to Lexington for a weekend.  We got up at the crack of dawn to go down to Keeneland to watch morning exercises.

We also watched some polo at the Kentucky Horse Park.  This was my first time watching polo.  It was incredible!!

My mom even scheduled a semi-private tour of Claibourne Farms, where Secretariat was retired and laid to rest.  The farm was absolutely beautiful.  I wanted to live there..

Well on my way home from Virginia I stopped in Louisville.  I trekked through the city a bit and sweat a LOT!  Darn humidity and sun!!

I spotted Batman..

The next afternoon I stopped at the Third Avenue Cafe for lunch.

The decor was fun!  They claim to have frequent Elvis sightings.  I didn’t see Bubba, though.  😉

The vegan rueben I had was PHENOMENAL!  I ate the entire thing and still wanted more!

After lunch I made my way to Churchill Downs, crossing it off my bucket list!  I wasn’t able to see any morning workouts but to me there’s just something beautiful about an empty racetrack.  You can feel all of the excitement and electricity that’s ever run through the stands.  It wasn’t as much fun without mom, but maybe I’ll take HER for a weekend sometime soon.

The magical tunnel!

Lookit me being all artsy with my photography!

I stopped at 3 Sisters Cafe in Indianapolis for a light dinner.  They were super friendly and had the cutest outdoor porch!  It was a beautiful night to sit outside and enjoy..

A bowl of vegan chili with some rye bread!  This stuff was rockin’!

I got home that night and collapsed.  It was a long and exhilarating trip.  My bed was happy to see me back!

That was a few months ago.  Hard to believe it’s been that long already!

I have a recipe that needs to be shared with you all.  I hope to have it up soon!  I’ve made it 4 times already!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

