Eggplant Parm.. My Way

This may look a hot mess.

And boy oh boy it is.

A delicious hot mess.

I got this idea last Saturday while watching Giada make a veggie parm. I rushed right out, bought an organic eggplant and got to work! I sliced and salted the eggplant to drain the bitterness. Let me tell you that it makes all the difference in the world with tenderness. The salting created that beautiful eggplant texture I used to get at Maggiano’s..

There’s not really much of a recipe, just a basic idea. If you don’t like eggplant, swap it for some other yummy squash or even some sliced potatoes! Perhaps I’ll try that next..

What I used:
*1 large organic eggplant; sliced, salted, drained and roasted according to Veganomicon’s instruction
*2 cups kale leaves, chopped and sauteed in canola oil with salt, pepper and crushed red pepper
*3-3 1/2 cups homemade marinara (mine had lots of mushrooms, garlic, sauteed onions and crushed red pepper in it)
*1 recipe cheese “sauce” from Lulu’s Mac and Cheese (found here)
*Daiya cheese (Mozz flavor)

I oiled my big glass baking dish and spread some sauce on the bottom. Then I layered in 3 slices of eggplant (they were HUGE) followed by some kale, half of the cheese “sauce”, a sprinkling of Daiya and some sauce. I repeated that process once more and finished off the last layer of sauce with an additional sprinkling of Daiya. I baked the whole thing in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.

Kyle and I had to restrain ourselves from eating the whole pan in one sitting. I finally know how to cure my eggplant parm craving and still treat my body right.

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday!

Spend time with those you love and I’ll see you back here soon!

Leave a Reply

